Author Topic: Army Corp A/E/C Cadd Standard  (Read 6937 times)

pmvliet

Army Corp A/E/C Cadd Standard
« on: February 04, 2005, 03:13:48 PM »
If anyone is using this standard or have based their company Cadd Standard on it, can you say if you like it or what you would change.
Has anyone gone to their training class for the full use of their Cadd Standards?

Thanks,
Pieter

Dent Cermak

« Reply #1 on: February 10, 2005, 05:48:52 PM »
We use the standards for all of our Corps work. More and more districts are signing on to the program.
The only problem I have with it is that I don't like the LONG layer names. That's just so stupid! But that's the Corps. I've been doing Corps work since 1968 (34th Engr CO (Base Topographic)). The old hand style manuals were well thought out. In came the computers and no drafters were asked for input, so new and stupid things came along. Slowly they are fixing the system.
Classes ? "We don't need no stinkin classes!!". Seriously, if you will sit down and read the new manual, you will see it's just so straight forward. In my opininon, anyone that needs a formal class on the standards manual needs to put the book down and step away from the computer. McDonald's is hiring. A career change is in your future. It's not rocket science. EVERYTHING you need is in the manual. And like all Army manuals, it's written oin a 5th grade level. No big words.
It's nothing more than a layer list for your discipline and a color/line weight chart. It includes all of the blocks (cells) that you need and tells you where to use them.
The latest edition is available on the internet as a free download. If you are going to print the manual have LOTS of paper on hand. (300+ pages). The blocks/cells for everyone are also available for a FREE download.
Look, if I understand it, ANYONE should be able to work with it!

Bob Garner

« Reply #2 on: February 10, 2005, 06:27:21 PM »