Author Topic: Group Project: Change item(s) to Layer [Discussion]  (Read 14888 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

John Kaul (Se7en)

  • Administrator
  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 9268
Group Project: Change item(s) to Layer [Discussion]
« on: April 14, 2011, 09:27:29 PM »
EDIT Log:
  • 04.15.11 - Crossed off `pseudo code' & `svn docs'
  • 04.19.11 - Crossed off Soldier's documentation template


TODO:
Lieutenant:
Please  create SVN details (brief docs) and recommendations for interfaces. - (dgorsman)

Lieutenant:
Finalize and combine directory structures from soldiers and assassins (add in required folders for final package).

Soldier:
Determine PSEUDO CODE - (pBe)

Soldier:
Devise error procedures (returns for procedures, error procedure call, error messages, etc.)

Soldier:
Create a documentation template file which can be used by other coders and which can be delivered to Assassins.
Devise a folder structure for code.
- (Se7en)

Assassin:
Devise a folder structure for docs.

Assassin:
Create a final documentation template for all types of documentation (from
code and project procedures)


« Last Edit: April 19, 2011, 10:44:02 PM by Se7en »
“Common sense is not so common.” ~Voltaire

--> Donate to TheSwamp.org <--

pBe

  • Bull Frog
  • Posts: 377
Re: Group Project: Change item(s) to Layer [Discussion]
« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2011, 06:15:51 AM »
PSEUDO CODE
This routine will allow the end user to select an item  and change the item(s) selected to a layer of the end users choice
   
Set up Selection Method
Ensure PICKFIRST is set to 1
if not 1
   Include to initialize function

Enable ":L" filter for before/after tool is called
if Selection nil ("after" tool is called)
      if Select
      Toggle button for previous selection
      if No previous set
         Disable button (mode_tile 1)
      else
         Default to is_enabled
else ("before" tool is called)
   Toggle button for option to Unlock based on two points obtain thru ssget before proceeding to add new objects to selection set
   if Enabled
      initiate 7WIP:ReselectPreviousLocked subfunction

Initialize Dialog Box Destination layer
   Initiate 7WIP:LayerListCleanup
   Set Current layer as Default value, include Filter option for selection of Destination Layer to minimize list and exclusion of Xref layers
   If listed
         Select Destination Layer
         if mispelled/Incorrect Naming convention
           Prompt to rename
If "accept"
    Accept all values and initiate 7WIP:ChangeEntityLayer subfunction
   if Rename Flag T
        Initiate 7WIP:RenameLayer subfunction
        Initiate 7WIP:ResetGlobalVar
   Initiate 7WIP:StoreLayerName   

else "cancel"
    Initiate Error Handler to include 7WIP:ResetGlobalVar    

« Last Edit: April 16, 2011, 01:05:05 AM by pBe »

John Kaul (Se7en)

  • Administrator
  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 9268
Re: Group Project: Change item(s) to Layer [Discussion]
« Reply #2 on: April 15, 2011, 07:37:46 AM »
Thanx pBe. possible idea: generate and clean the layer list before the dialog is displayed.
“Common sense is not so common.” ~Voltaire

--> Donate to TheSwamp.org <--

Lee Mac

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 12270
  • London, England
Re: Group Project: Change item(s) to Layer [Discussion]
« Reply #3 on: April 15, 2011, 11:51:55 AM »
We could call the project: "Project7"

Sounds cool.

dgorsman

  • Water Moccasin
  • Posts: 2394
Re: Group Project: Change item(s) to Layer [Discussion]
« Reply #4 on: April 15, 2011, 12:09:09 PM »
I'll see about getting SVN instructions up in the next couple of days.
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.

try {GreatPower;}
   catch (notResponsible)
      {NextTime(PlanAhead);}
   finally
      {MasterBasics;}

Lee Mac

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 12270
  • London, England
Re: Group Project: Change item(s) to Layer [Discussion]
« Reply #5 on: April 15, 2011, 12:47:03 PM »
This thread is intended to be a place for the general poulation to offer praise, money, first born, etc., etc. (read: for informational purposes).

Moved discussion to correct thread  :-)

see if you cant work up some sort of writeup explaining how your dialog is to be called, what does it return, etc., etc..

This was the header I used for the module:

Code: [Select]
;; NAME
;; 7WIP:GetLayerSelection
;;
;; DESCRIPTION
;; Provides a dialog interface through which
;; the user can select a layer from a list of supplied
;; layer names displayed in a list_box.
;;
;; Dialog includes an edit_box filter to enable the user to filter
;; the list of layer names using a wildcard string.
;;
;; ARGUMENTS
;; List of Strings to be displayed in the list_box
;;
;; EXAMPLE
;; (7WIP:GetLayerSelection '("Layer1" "Layer2" "Layer3"))
;;
;; RETURNS
;; Name of selected layer if the user presses OK, else
;; returns nil if either the user presses cancel or the dialog
;; could not be loaded.
;;
;; BY
;; Lee Mac
;;
;; DATE
;; 15.04.2011
;;

John Kaul (Se7en)

  • Administrator
  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 9268
Re: Group Project: Change item(s) to Layer [Discussion]
« Reply #6 on: April 15, 2011, 12:58:01 PM »
We could call the project: "Project7"

Sounds cool.

Well I like it but I may be a little biased. *lol*

Speaking of titles/names: Who can draw? Can we get a simple logo for the docs (or is that a bit too much)?
“Common sense is not so common.” ~Voltaire

--> Donate to TheSwamp.org <--

Chris

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 544
Re: Group Project: Change item(s) to Layer [Discussion]
« Reply #7 on: April 15, 2011, 01:00:28 PM »
I would supposed I should probably just sit tight until documentation editing is required, and I'm hoping when we get to that point, I can get a little more clarification on what deliverables are being expected of me.  Proof reading/writing I can do, I as for folder structure for documentation, It all depends on the intent of how things are to be packaged.  Are we thinking an actual help file/readme type thing, or am I totally missing the mark.  It also may be easier to develop a template after the first go around, then we can make slight modifications to it if need be for future projects
Christopher T. Cowgill, P.E.
AEC Collection 2018 (C3D)
Win 10

John Kaul (Se7en)

  • Administrator
  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 9268
Re: Group Project: Change item(s) to Layer [Discussion]
« Reply #8 on: April 15, 2011, 01:09:11 PM »
Chris,
No you are on the mark. I would most certianly count on some proof reading/writing and other editiorial duties.

What about docs in at least HTML and TXT formats? My thoughts are: HTML, a browser window can be launched and/or for TXT, a dialog could be displayed from with-in the program.
“Common sense is not so common.” ~Voltaire

--> Donate to TheSwamp.org <--

Lee Mac

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 12270
  • London, England
Re: Group Project: Change item(s) to Layer [Discussion]
« Reply #9 on: April 15, 2011, 01:13:51 PM »
We could call the project: "Project7"

Sounds cool.

Well I like it but I may be a little biased. *lol*

Speaking of titles/names: Who can draw? Can we get a simple logo for the docs (or is that a bit too much)?

Perhaps?


Chris

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 544
Re: Group Project: Change item(s) to Layer [Discussion]
« Reply #10 on: April 15, 2011, 01:14:10 PM »
Who can draw?
I draw with AutoCAD everyday.   :-)  but if you want something by hand, sorry I cant help much there.  What type of logo are you looking for?  I may be able to come up with something
Christopher T. Cowgill, P.E.
AEC Collection 2018 (C3D)
Win 10

John Kaul (Se7en)

  • Administrator
  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 9268
Re: Group Project: Change item(s) to Layer [Discussion]
« Reply #11 on: April 15, 2011, 01:15:11 PM »
<snip> It also may be easier to develop a template after the first go around, then we can make slight modifications to it if need be for future projects

I agree with that, but I was just thinking a simple template with any headers, pharases, logo's, whatever so all the Assassin's are using the same format document for now (we dont really have any of that right now so where do we begin?).
“Common sense is not so common.” ~Voltaire

--> Donate to TheSwamp.org <--

Chris

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 544
Re: Group Project: Change item(s) to Layer [Discussion]
« Reply #12 on: April 15, 2011, 01:16:15 PM »
Chris,
No you are on the mark. I would most certianly count on some proof reading/writing and other editiorial duties.

What about docs in at least HTML and TXT formats? My thoughts are: HTML, a browser window can be launched and/or for TXT, a dialog could be displayed from with-in the program.

I've still got some old programs, when using html to be able to convert to chm if you wanted.  HTML is doable, just need to create a template for the pages, then add content.  Our office customizations help file is html based, just having some issues with formatting on Firefox.
Christopher T. Cowgill, P.E.
AEC Collection 2018 (C3D)
Win 10

John Kaul (Se7en)

  • Administrator
  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 9268
Re: Group Project: Change item(s) to Layer [Discussion]
« Reply #13 on: April 15, 2011, 01:17:51 PM »
I like it Lee! Can we get some border around the VII part ...make it more ominous looking.
“Common sense is not so common.” ~Voltaire

--> Donate to TheSwamp.org <--

John Kaul (Se7en)

  • Administrator
  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 9268
Re: Group Project: Change item(s) to Layer [Discussion]
« Reply #14 on: April 15, 2011, 01:20:06 PM »
Chris,
No you are on the mark. I would most certianly count on some proof reading/writing and other editiorial duties.

What about docs in at least HTML and TXT formats? My thoughts are: HTML, a browser window can be launched and/or for TXT, a dialog could be displayed from with-in the program.

I've still got some old programs, when using html to be able to convert to chm if you wanted.  HTML is doable, just need to create a template for the pages, then add content.  Our office customizations help file is html based, just having some issues with formatting on Firefox.

Cool. Let's try the CHM when we get some docs going and see how it works (options are always good).
“Common sense is not so common.” ~Voltaire

--> Donate to TheSwamp.org <--