Author Topic: can anyone please help me with this code?  (Read 5632 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

andrew_nao

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 566
can anyone please help me with this code?
« on: April 13, 2011, 04:28:08 PM »
I found this code on the web, for searching an excel file and the code pops up a window with the results
however instead of the window i would like to have the results appear in excel cells on the same sheet as the find function, for copy and pasting purposes.

i dont know VB code so if anyone can help me out i would appreciate it

attach is in the excel file for reference on what it does

thanks
« Last Edit: April 13, 2011, 04:34:29 PM by andrew_nao »

linhoreka

  • Guest
Re: can anyone please help me with this code?
« Reply #1 on: April 13, 2011, 10:48:19 PM »
Will this work ? http://www.mediafire.com/?2xylkvfy167wtdf
(I cannot attach the new file "Find.xls", so I upload it to my MediaFire account)
« Last Edit: April 13, 2011, 10:55:19 PM by linhoreka »

andrew_nao

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 566
Re: can anyone please help me with this code?
« Reply #2 on: April 14, 2011, 10:00:32 AM »
Hi,
thanks for you help, however can you make it have the search function on sheet1 and keep the data to be search on sheet 2
and also have the actual info in the cell displayed instead of row/cell combo?

I appreciate your help

Matt__W

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 12955
  • I like my water diluted.
Re: can anyone please help me with this code?
« Reply #3 on: April 14, 2011, 10:40:05 AM »
I have a custom time sheet that has a search function.  It will search all tabs and then displays the results in a dialog box.  As you click on the search results, it brings you to the cell on whatever sheet the searched text was found on.  From there you could simply copy the text, the click back to the dialog box and go to another result.
Autodesk Expert Elite
Revit Subject Matter Expert (SME)
Owner/FAA sUAS Pilot @ http://skyviz.io

andrew_nao

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 566
Re: can anyone please help me with this code?
« Reply #4 on: April 14, 2011, 01:19:20 PM »
are you able to share it? maybe i can modify it to suit my needs?


linhoreka

  • Guest
Re: can anyone please help me with this code?
« Reply #5 on: April 14, 2011, 01:40:19 PM »
Why don't you use Find (Ctrl+F) instead ?
Can you show me what do want to do next with those data on found cells ? I'll format the data to suit your needs.

Matt__W

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 12955
  • I like my water diluted.
Re: can anyone please help me with this code?
« Reply #6 on: April 14, 2011, 02:46:29 PM »
Have a look-see at this.
Autodesk Expert Elite
Revit Subject Matter Expert (SME)
Owner/FAA sUAS Pilot @ http://skyviz.io

andrew_nao

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 566
Re: can anyone please help me with this code?
« Reply #7 on: April 14, 2011, 03:53:14 PM »
Why don't you use Find (Ctrl+F) instead ?
Can you show me what do want to do next with those data on found cells ? I'll format the data to suit your needs.

its a long winded explaination on why ctrl+f isnt used, that would be the easy option out, i agree but lets just say you cant teach an old dog new tricks...

anyway if you can have the info in the cells from sheet2 appear in the results of the popup when using it on sheet1 instead of the row and column number when found and for it to search sheet 2 exclusively and not be selectable i think would do the trick.

thanks again for your help

andrew_nao

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 566
Re: can anyone please help me with this code?
« Reply #8 on: April 14, 2011, 03:54:03 PM »
Have a look-see at this.

im using office 2000 any chance to save down?
im unable to open this.

thanks

Matt__W

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 12955
  • I like my water diluted.
Re: can anyone please help me with this code?
« Reply #9 on: April 14, 2011, 03:56:49 PM »
Saved down version.
Autodesk Expert Elite
Revit Subject Matter Expert (SME)
Owner/FAA sUAS Pilot @ http://skyviz.io

linhoreka

  • Guest
Re: can anyone please help me with this code?
« Reply #10 on: April 14, 2011, 10:09:38 PM »
Here it is, just a few thing to do to put the cell's value to the popup http://www.mediafire.com/?bcvbsondy3y5s01

andrew_nao

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 566
Re: can anyone please help me with this code?
« Reply #11 on: April 15, 2011, 01:31:08 PM »
thanks all ill let you all know how it works after i play with it