Author Topic: Dynamic blocks - keeping an element centralised?  (Read 11412 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

jools182

  • Guest
Dynamic blocks - keeping an element centralised?
« on: January 11, 2011, 10:09:02 AM »
The dynamic block have already been defined.

The motor on the conveyor is represented by the large yellow box on the top edge of the plan of the conveyor. We want to show a more accurate size and representation of the motor which is now shown in magenta

The problem I have now is that I can't get the new motor to move in relation to the length of the conveyor. If you stretch the length of the conveyor the pink motor stays where it is relative to the left hand side of the conveyor. I would like it to stay centralised like the older yellow box representation of the motor.

Nibster

  • Guest
Re: Dynamic blocks - keeping an element centralised?
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2011, 10:15:35 AM »
other than imagining what you may have attached  :wink: you need to modify your motor with a 'MOVE' action, but set the 'distance multiplier' (in the action's properties) from the default 1.0 to ".5"  That will make it move HALF the distance as your stretch, therefore staying centered!

jools182

  • Guest
Re: Dynamic blocks - keeping an element centralised?
« Reply #2 on: January 11, 2011, 10:18:19 AM »
thanks

I'll attach the block when I get home

been trying to attach it all day but the internet connection at work isn't having it  :realmad:


jools182

  • Guest
Re: Dynamic blocks - keeping an element centralised?
« Reply #3 on: January 12, 2011, 04:37:14 AM »
I managed to work it out from your instructions nibster, thanks

I now have another problem though

The block has a tag on the left hand side which is the 'static' side of the block when it's being stretched

Trying to put a bubble around the text in the tag, but when I stretch the block, the bubble is moving and the text is staying put

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 14444
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: Dynamic blocks - keeping an element centralised?
« Reply #4 on: January 12, 2011, 07:50:55 AM »
include the text in the selection set to be moved...or exclude the box whichever you want to stay put...or move.
Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

Nibster

  • Guest
Re: Dynamic blocks - keeping an element centralised?
« Reply #5 on: January 12, 2011, 08:27:33 AM »
.... AND (i know it is counter-intuitive) but make sure that the Attribute's "Locked" property is checked. 

Unchecked: it has a grip that allows you to move the attribute as in any other plain block.

Checked: it allows the attribute to be affected by parameters and actions, and that includes the visibility parameter.

jools182

  • Guest
Re: Dynamic blocks - keeping an element centralised?
« Reply #6 on: January 13, 2011, 07:55:25 AM »
I have previously chosen which objects are to be stretched and which will move in relation to the length. I've just gone back into block editor to add the cirle around the tag, I can't understand why it's moving.

I can see that the tag has a 'position locked' attribute in the properties table

however, when I add a circle around the text it doesn't give an option to lock it

« Last Edit: January 13, 2011, 08:00:02 AM by jools182 »

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 14444
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: Dynamic blocks - keeping an element centralised?
« Reply #7 on: January 13, 2011, 08:21:07 AM »
sounds as if that circle is within the move/stretch selection window
Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

jools182

  • Guest
Re: Dynamic blocks - keeping an element centralised?
« Reply #8 on: January 13, 2011, 08:48:03 AM »
something odd about it, even if I draw a circle miles away from the conveyor block, it still moves with the stretch  :-(

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 14444
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: Dynamic blocks - keeping an element centralised?
« Reply #9 on: January 13, 2011, 08:51:03 AM »
please send me a copy of that bad block (or post sample here)
Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

Nibster

  • Guest
Re: Dynamic blocks - keeping an element centralised?
« Reply #10 on: January 13, 2011, 08:53:33 AM »
I have previously chosen which objects are to be stretched and which will move in relation to the length. I've just gone back into block editor to add the cirle around the tag, I can't understand why it's moving.

I can see that the tag has a 'position locked' attribute in the properties table

however, when I add a circle around the text it doesn't give an option to lock it


the lock option is unique to attributes.  almost all other geometry (including regular text) doesn't have that toggle.

Nibster

  • Guest
Re: Dynamic blocks - keeping an element centralised?
« Reply #11 on: January 13, 2011, 08:56:00 AM »
something odd about it, even if I draw a circle miles away from the conveyor block, it still moves with the stretch  :-(
if the object is included in a stretch action, but isn't inside the action boundary (crossing window) then it will affect the object just like a move.

 it's kind of a shortcut if you want something to move the same distance and direction as a stretch action, but dont' want to clutter up the screen with another, separate, move action for a parameter.

jools182

  • Guest
Re: Dynamic blocks - keeping an element centralised?
« Reply #12 on: January 13, 2011, 09:00:50 AM »
so there is no way of making the circle stay put?

Nibster

  • Guest
Re: Dynamic blocks - keeping an element centralised?
« Reply #13 on: January 13, 2011, 09:34:40 AM »
so there is no way of making the circle stay put?
you need to find the action that's affecting it and then remove it (the circle) from the selection set.  (find action, select, r-click, pick shortcut menu option that will allow you to modify as desired)

jools182

  • Guest
Re: Dynamic blocks - keeping an element centralised?
« Reply #14 on: January 14, 2011, 02:57:42 AM »
Thanks for all your help so far

I've managed to upload the file at home

Here is the dwg file to better illustrate the problem
« Last Edit: January 14, 2011, 04:44:58 AM by jools182 »

jools182

  • Guest
Re: Dynamic blocks - keeping an element centralised?
« Reply #15 on: January 17, 2011, 09:27:23 AM »
Hi

still not managed to do this

has anyone had a chance to look at the dwg?

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 14444
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: Dynamic blocks - keeping an element centralised?
« Reply #16 on: January 17, 2011, 10:10:03 AM »
Yes,

I think you need to change the origin of the Strecth linear parameter as the Circle, and the text are included in the selection area.
Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 14444
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: Dynamic blocks - keeping an element centralised?
« Reply #17 on: January 17, 2011, 11:16:02 AM »
Jools...

Attached find a simplified version of your conveyor...

My Stretch parameter does not impace the Attribute, or the Circle.

Perhaps it is or was an order of operation issue?
I drew the geometry, I added the Circle and then placed the attribute at center.
In Block Editor, I used Far right end of the conveyor rectangle as the start point of the stretch
when defining the Window of objects the action should work on, I was sure to NOT overlap the circle or attribute in any way.
when selecting objects to be stretch the same precautions were applied.
You may have to back up to go forward with this.
Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

jools182

  • Guest
Re: Dynamic blocks - keeping an element centralised?
« Reply #18 on: January 18, 2011, 09:16:54 AM »
thanks for all the help on this

it seemed to work fine when I exploded the block and redefined it

must have just been due to the fact I was trying to edit an existing block

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 14444
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: Dynamic blocks - keeping an element centralised?
« Reply #19 on: January 18, 2011, 09:35:24 AM »
thanks for all the help on this

it seemed to work fine when I exploded the block and redefined it

must have just been due to the fact I was trying to edit an existing block
Jools,

It has been my belief all along, that when a block does not behave the best thing to do is salvage the geometry if possible and redefine it.
HTH
Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

Nibster

  • Guest
Re: Dynamic blocks - keeping an element centralised?
« Reply #20 on: January 18, 2011, 09:41:02 AM »
thanks for all the help on this

it seemed to work fine when I exploded the block and redefined it

must have just been due to the fact I was trying to edit an existing block
Jools,

It has been my belief all along, that when a block does not behave the best thing to do is salvage the geometry if possible and redefine it.
HTH
Geometry has almost always been innocent in DB upgrades.  It's the attributes that need to be re-started from scratch.