Author Topic: Linking a database to AutoCAD  (Read 6228 times)

Big Al

Linking a database to AutoCAD
« on: December 30, 2010, 11:04:53 AM »
Hello all,

I'm new to The Swamp, and I must say after reviewing several of the topics herein, I feel as if I don't know anything.  But, hoping to learn more.

I have a very generic question, and I'm not sure exactly where to post it, but I thought I'd try here.

I'm a land surveyor.  I'd like to set up a database to enter information from deeds, and then be able to automatically generate a graphical representation parcels in AutoCAD, using one or more methodologies for that representation.  As I perform research in my area, I'd like the database to grow, and potentially allow for others to add to the database, so that growth can happen faster over time.

First of all, because of a limited budget, I should mention that I am working with now outdated software (AutoCAD 2002 with Land Desktop 3 modules). Forgive me.  It seems there are perhaps many ways to accomplish this.  I have discovered the dbConnect function in AutoCAD, and it looks like it will work with a number of different database formats.  Because of my interest in potentially allowing others to access and add to the database, I'm thinking that a web based solution like SQL might be appropriate.