Author Topic: Need input on SSM use?  (Read 1307 times)

VTMTBKR

Need input on SSM use?
« on: December 02, 2010, 09:41:08 AM »
I've been working solely in Revit the past 2 years and now am back on CAD for awhile at a new company. (I'm an architect working on large commercial projects with 12 years experiance) This is the first time I've used the sheet set manager as the last time I was using cad it was LT. I'm struggling to see the purpose of using "Views" in certain instances. Please try and help me see any advantages.

Here's the example of how the firm is "used to" doing it...in the project I'm working on for example........
Two "Constructs" make up the floor, existing work and new work. Only building elements exist in these views (ie no annotation)
These are then brought together into lots of "Views" (47 to be exact) where the plans are xcliped into parts of the building that fit on the sheet at 1/8" and the annotation is then added in the "view".These "views" are then put on sheets.

My question is for a plan that only shows up on one sheet why is there the need to make a "View" Why wouldn't I just reference the plans into the model space of the sheet, xclip it there and add annotation in the model space as I've always done it in the past. The "View" step seems to just add to the process and creates another file without gaining any advantages in my opinion, plus I have to make an imaginary box of the printable area when I'm xcliping to make sure the area will fit within the sheet border.

Can anyone enlighten me to how the SSM and the "Views" tab is used in other firms since I don't have much experiance with it?

CAB

• Global Moderator
  • Seagull
Re: Need input on SSM use?
« Reply #1 on: December 02, 2010, 09:45:17 AM »
Welcome to the Swamp.  :-)

I don't use the SSM but someone that does will be along soon.
I've reached the age where the happy hour is a nap. (°¿°)
Windows 10 core i7 4790k 4Ghz 32GB GTX 970
Please support this web site.

Matt__W

• Seagull