Author Topic: Is it acceptable in your place....  (Read 25116 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

craigr

  • Guest
Is it acceptable in your place....
« on: June 09, 2010, 08:52:37 AM »
When drawing a line, say horizontal, 100' - Is it acceptable to drawi it in segments rather than ONE line?

We do mostly electrical dwgs. I have been trying to get our guys to stop drawing single lines in segments. When moving the lines, it is very annoying to only grab part of the line.

Sometimes there are even lines that have another one beneath it.

To me, this is just sloopy CAD work.

Is it tolerated in your place?

Willie

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 958
  • Going nowhere slowly
Re: Is it acceptable in your place....
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2010, 08:55:05 AM »
Only one line is acceptable.
Soli Deo Gloria | Qui Audet Adipiscitur
Windows 8  64-bit Enterprise | Civil 3D 2015 and 2016| ArcGIS 10.1
Yogi Berra : "I'd give my right arm to be ambidextrous."

M-dub

  • Guest
Re: Is it acceptable in your place....
« Reply #2 on: June 09, 2010, 08:58:16 AM »
No.  That is one of my pet peeves.  Someone needs to learn the Extend or Stretch commands... and have their knuckles rapped so they don't forget it.

jonesy

  • SuperMod
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 15568
Re: Is it acceptable in your place....
« Reply #3 on: June 09, 2010, 09:05:21 AM »
Not acceptable here either. Its on my pet-peeves list. It is shoddy drafting and should be stopped, the sooner the better. Somebody here does it, but alas, it seems to be "Mr/Mrs Nobody" so we cant track it down.

It was one of the first things my trainer taught us years ago (in the days of the pen plotter) as the pen would keep drawing in the same place for as many lines as were there.
Thanks for explaining the word "many" to me, it means a lot.

JCTER

  • Guest
Re: Is it acceptable in your place....
« Reply #4 on: June 09, 2010, 09:09:42 AM »
overkill

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 14444
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: Is it acceptable in your place....
« Reply #5 on: June 09, 2010, 09:11:25 AM »
why not STOP using lines altogether, and ONLY draw polylines instead; in this manner the whole line would get moved, and not one segment at a time...

In the Civil world, polylines are also preferred as C3D has many tools designed to convert them into things like Alignments, and or Pipe Networks.

In my world polylines are preferred for better than 95% of everything I ever draw.
Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

M-dub

  • Guest
Re: Is it acceptable in your place....
« Reply #6 on: June 09, 2010, 09:34:47 AM »
In I&E, polylines are overkill most of the time.  They have their uses, I suppose.

Keith™

  • Villiage Idiot
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 16899
  • Superior Stupidity at its best
Re: Is it acceptable in your place....
« Reply #7 on: June 09, 2010, 09:35:42 AM »
yeah, plines work for us here but not in all situations and those drawings where folks draw multiple lines to represent a single line .. makes me want to choke someome
Proud provider of opinion and arrogance since November 22, 2003 at 09:35:31 am
CadJockey Militia Field Marshal

Find me on https://parler.com @kblackie

craigr

  • Guest
Re: Is it acceptable in your place....
« Reply #8 on: June 09, 2010, 09:36:34 AM »
In I&E, polylines are overkill most of the time.  They have their uses, I suppose.

What is 'I&E' ?

M-dub

  • Guest
Re: Is it acceptable in your place....
« Reply #9 on: June 09, 2010, 09:37:18 AM »
Instrumentation & Electrical

Keith™

  • Villiage Idiot
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 16899
  • Superior Stupidity at its best
Re: Is it acceptable in your place....
« Reply #10 on: June 09, 2010, 09:42:21 AM »
Instrumentation & Electrical
funny .. I never did any instrumentation, but with every electrical schematic I have ever had the pleasure of working on, it was mandatory to use plines .. but then maybe your electrical is different from schematics and wiring plans
Proud provider of opinion and arrogance since November 22, 2003 at 09:35:31 am
CadJockey Militia Field Marshal

Find me on https://parler.com @kblackie

uncoolperson

  • Guest
Re: Is it acceptable in your place....
« Reply #11 on: June 09, 2010, 09:44:27 AM »
one line

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 14444
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: Is it acceptable in your place....
« Reply #12 on: June 09, 2010, 09:44:46 AM »
In I&E, polylines are overkill most of the time.  They have their uses, I suppose.
curious..how is a polyline overkill for this use...a (poly)line on a layer connecting to connection points on a diagram?
Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

JohnK

  • Administrator
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 10623
Re: Is it acceptable in your place....
« Reply #13 on: June 09, 2010, 09:45:05 AM »
yes, that is acceptable; in fact i recommend putting several lines on top of each other all on different layers. I also like to have items with different start and end z values.
TheSwamp.org (serving the CAD community since 2003)
Member location map - Add yourself

Donate to TheSwamp.org

craigr

  • Guest
Re: Is it acceptable in your place....
« Reply #14 on: June 09, 2010, 09:45:40 AM »
I don't see what PLines are soooo much better than regular lines.