Author Topic: (C3D '10) install issues  (Read 2698 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Mark

  • Custom Title
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 28683
(C3D '10) install issues
« on: March 30, 2010, 09:06:52 AM »
Quote
Install   AutoCAD Civil 3D 2010   Failed   Installation aborted, Result=1603
<clueless>

this is my second day of trying to get AutoCAD Civil 3D 2010 installed on this machine. *sigh*
TheSwamp.org  (serving the CAD community since 2003)

Diněsaur

  • Certified Bovine Scat Distributor...I lay it on THICK
  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 5424
  • But I don't WANT a Day Job
Re: (C3D '10) install issues
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2010, 09:29:52 AM »
Are you installing from CD or from a network location.  I typically had better luck copying the cd contents to a hard drive and install from there.
Stephen R. Sherrill,
The Diněsaur
Civil 3D Specialist Emeritus

YAY ME !!!  I made it out alive !

Wedding

  • Guest
Re: (C3D '10) install issues
« Reply #2 on: March 30, 2010, 09:46:58 AM »
Mark,

1603 is one of the more broad error codes, and that can make it very frustrating to diagnose. It basically tells you that one of the various subs bombed out during the install process. If you contact support, they'll tell you to turn on verbose logging in the installer so you can see where it's failing.

http://usa.autodesk.com/getdoc/id=TS1070015

Personally, I always found this had something to do with a .net issue of one form or another. Try seeing if there are any Windows Updates available, or perhaps even removing some that you have and letting C3D do the update that it wants first.

Sorry I don't have a better answer, but maybe something there can help.
JW

Mark

  • Custom Title
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 28683
Re: (C3D '10) install issues
« Reply #3 on: March 30, 2010, 10:23:43 AM »
Are you installing from CD or from a network location.  I typically had better luck copying the cd contents to a hard drive and install from there.
After trying to install from DVD I went with the hard drive approach, like you I've had better luck with that type of install. Anyway, after you figure out where the files are suppose to go everything worked out fine.

I now have C3D '10 installed.

but ....
TheSwamp.org  (serving the CAD community since 2003)

Mark

  • Custom Title
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 28683
Re: (C3D '10) install issues
« Reply #4 on: March 30, 2010, 10:25:13 AM »
Mark,

1603 is one of the more broad error codes, and that can make it very frustrating to diagnose. It basically tells you that one of the various subs bombed out during the install process. If you contact support, they'll tell you to turn on verbose logging in the installer so you can see where it's failing.

http://usa.autodesk.com/getdoc/id=TS1070015
Thanks for the input. I'll keep that one book marked. :)
TheSwamp.org  (serving the CAD community since 2003)

Mark

  • Custom Title
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 28683
Re: (C3D '10) install issues
« Reply #5 on: March 30, 2010, 11:26:06 AM »
When applying SP2 ...
TheSwamp.org  (serving the CAD community since 2003)

Diněsaur

  • Certified Bovine Scat Distributor...I lay it on THICK
  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 5424
  • But I don't WANT a Day Job
Re: (C3D '10) install issues
« Reply #6 on: March 30, 2010, 01:42:05 PM »
When applying SP2 ...

LORD, I don't miss those one little bit.
I had an answer to that problem but I can't find that rock hammer anywhere
Stephen R. Sherrill,
The Diněsaur
Civil 3D Specialist Emeritus

YAY ME !!!  I made it out alive !

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 14444
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: (C3D '10) install issues
« Reply #7 on: March 30, 2010, 02:32:24 PM »
Hit the Ignore button   :lmao:
Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

Mark

  • Custom Title
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 28683
Re: (C3D '10) install issues
« Reply #8 on: March 31, 2010, 10:48:06 AM »
Same old bugs still exist I see.
TheSwamp.org  (serving the CAD community since 2003)

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 14444
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: (C3D '10) install issues
« Reply #9 on: March 31, 2010, 10:49:23 AM »
Same old bugs still exist I see.

Don't get me started..... :roll:
Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

Mark

  • Custom Title
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 28683
Re: (C3D '10) install issues
« Reply #10 on: March 31, 2010, 11:16:54 AM »
Sad story. This all happened a little more than a year ago.

Budget God(BG) calls my boss: we have some money left in the '08 budget do you want to get Mark a new PC since he didn't get one the last cycle?.
My boss(MB): hey Mark do you want a new PC?.
Me: heck yeah!!
MB: sure he'd like one.
BG: tell him to spec it out and send me the info.
MB: will do.

so I send the info over, BG hands it to IT for approval. some time later, IT approves and orders new PC. PC arrives, IT guy looks at it, "um you guys know this is a 64 bit machine right with Windows 7 x64?" other IT guy, "WHAT!! we don't support that". First IT guy puts it back in box.

Months later ...
MB calls IT: any word on the new PC we ordered?
IT guy: yeah it's here but we can't support it
MB: WHAT!! you approved it
IT guy: yeah but we can't support it.

Months later ...
IT guy calls MB: what do want to do with this PC?
MB: I'd like to use it!!
IT: we can put XP on it and let you have it
MB: that's better than it setting in your office collecting dust!!
IT: Okay, we'll get it out there to ya.

Months later new PC arrives w/ XP. <Mark shaking head>
TheSwamp.org  (serving the CAD community since 2003)