Author Topic: (C3D '09) Working with multiple Alignments in a large dwg  (Read 11639 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

jugglerbri

  • Guest
Re: (C3D '09) Working with multiple Alignments in a large dwg
« Reply #15 on: September 16, 2009, 12:22:26 AM »
Mark, check out using the survey database to manage your points.  Import the points into the survey database (extremely easy to do if you have 2010).  You can then simply insert any of the points from the database into any drawing you want and stylize them however you like.  You can even do grid to ground transformation by simple drag and drop.

Mark

  • Custom Title
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 28762
Re: (C3D '09) Working with multiple Alignments in a large dwg
« Reply #16 on: September 16, 2009, 08:46:24 AM »
Mark, check out using the survey database to manage your points.  Import the points into the survey database (extremely easy to do if you have 2010).  You can then simply insert any of the points from the database into any drawing you want and stylize them however you like.  You can even do grid to ground transformation by simple drag and drop.
What about creating them? I'm guessing one will have to export -> landXML the newly created points them insert them into the survey database.
TheSwamp.org  (serving the CAD community since 2003)

Mark

  • Custom Title
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 28762
Re: (C3D '09) Working with multiple Alignments in a large dwg
« Reply #17 on: September 16, 2009, 09:45:16 AM »
So just for fun I tried Export -> LandXML and selected Points. Next I deleted all the points from my drawing. I then setup a new Survey Database and did Import Survey LandXML.  All looks good! I then do Points -> Insert into drawing. No problem they all come in ... only in the wrong place! Coordinate zones are set correctly in both the drawing and the Survey Database. Clueless ....


Creating points using a survey command window looks interesting, though I'm still reading.
TheSwamp.org  (serving the CAD community since 2003)

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 14444
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: (C3D '09) Working with multiple Alignments in a large dwg
« Reply #18 on: September 16, 2009, 10:03:45 AM »
how far OFF is the data?

you will want to be aware of a SERIOUS defect in 2010...

Your Equipment Database will want to be set to all ZEROS

Or any import operations apply the equipment adjustments to the information, irrespective of the HELP file indicating that they are ONLY applied during a least squares adjustment.
Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 14444
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: (C3D '09) Working with multiple Alignments in a large dwg
« Reply #19 on: September 16, 2009, 10:07:08 AM »
Mark, check out using the survey database to manage your points.  ....

Isn't that what I told him here?  Thanks for backing me up on that.  ;)

Having reconsidered what you are doing, you most likely want to have a slightly different file structure ...

in your BOUNDARY file you should have the points inserted into your survey network.

Then XREF this file into your alignment files....

unless you are NOT using any of the survey adjustment tools inside C3D.
Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

Mark

  • Custom Title
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 28762
Re: (C3D '09) Working with multiple Alignments in a large dwg
« Reply #20 on: September 16, 2009, 10:11:58 AM »
how far OFF is the data?
About 2' in each direction. I checked the LandXML file, it has the correct coordinates.


Quote
you will want to be aware of a SERIOUS defect in 2010...
Your Equipment Database will want to be set to all ZEROS
Or any import operations apply the equipment adjustments to the information, irrespective of the HELP file indicating that they are ONLY applied during a least squares adjustment.
Thanks, I'll try that next.
TheSwamp.org  (serving the CAD community since 2003)

Mark

  • Custom Title
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 28762
Re: (C3D '09) Working with multiple Alignments in a large dwg
« Reply #21 on: September 16, 2009, 10:20:01 AM »
Your Equipment Database will want to be set to all ZEROS

That worked! Doesn't make sense but it worked.
TheSwamp.org  (serving the CAD community since 2003)

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 14444
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: (C3D '09) Working with multiple Alignments in a large dwg
« Reply #22 on: September 16, 2009, 10:20:33 AM »
also why not employ the EXPORT Points funtion for this?

You will want to create a point group, however you shouldn't have issues with CS, or other issues moving the data around on you.

Before your brought in the other data you verified your CS, and units in the Survey Database settings?
« Last Edit: September 16, 2009, 10:30:46 AM by mjfarrell »
Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

Mark

  • Custom Title
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 28762
Re: (C3D '09) Working with multiple Alignments in a large dwg
« Reply #23 on: September 16, 2009, 10:24:58 AM »
also why not employ the EXPORT Points funtion for this?

I looked for that option, I didn't see it.
TheSwamp.org  (serving the CAD community since 2003)

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 14444
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: (C3D '09) Working with multiple Alignments in a large dwg
« Reply #24 on: September 16, 2009, 10:27:14 AM »
Your Equipment Database will want to be set to all ZEROS

That worked! Doesn't make sense but it worked.


Go read the Help file...it implies that those settings are ONLY applied during survey network adjustments.

This is a symptom of a serious DEFECT, or DEFICIENCY, and needs to be A)Fixed or B)don't fixt it, just retype the help file and tell us how the thing REALLY works, or doesn't as the case may be.

><jugglerbri, take that up with autodesk for us will you?  working with a vendor an all it';s the least you can do.><
Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

Mark

  • Custom Title
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 28762
Re: (C3D '09) Working with multiple Alignments in a large dwg
« Reply #25 on: September 16, 2009, 10:28:40 AM »
You will want to create a point grroup, however you shouldn't have issues with CS, or other issues moving the data around on you.

Before your brought in the other data you verified your CS, and units in the Survey Database settings?
CS?
TheSwamp.org  (serving the CAD community since 2003)

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 14444
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: (C3D '09) Working with multiple Alignments in a large dwg
« Reply #26 on: September 16, 2009, 10:29:04 AM »
also why not employ the EXPORT Points funtion for this?

I looked for that option, I didn't see it.

Prospector Tab>>Rt-Click on Point Group>>Select Export...about four down form the top of the list....

(I would so love to get you into class for a week)
Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 14444
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: (C3D '09) Working with multiple Alignments in a large dwg
« Reply #27 on: September 16, 2009, 10:30:23 AM »
You will want to create a point group, however you shouldn't have issues with CS, or other issues moving the data around on you.

Before your brought in the other data you verified your CS, and units in the Survey Database settings?
CS?

sorry GIS shorthand - Coordinate System (CS)

either that or CS Gas chemical weapons attack...in which case GAS!  GAS!  GAS!
Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 14444
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: (C3D '09) Working with multiple Alignments in a large dwg
« Reply #28 on: September 16, 2009, 10:39:00 AM »
I'm also thinking you do not want to use the survey command window to create your points.
Instead use the normal Point Creation commands, with the transparent commands and others to Set(create) the points you needed to calculate.  Two reasons, you can set the default description, and put them into discreet groups, i.e. Elm Street ROW points, etc.

Then, export your groups, and import them into the survey database so that you then have that functionality if importing/exporting from various drawings easily.

Also of note you can Apply different Label Styles to Points,(and other objects) through to an attached XREF file.
Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

Mark

  • Custom Title
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 28762
Re: (C3D '09) Working with multiple Alignments in a large dwg
« Reply #29 on: September 16, 2009, 10:39:20 AM »
also why not employ the EXPORT Points funtion for this?

I looked for that option, I didn't see it.

Prospector Tab>>Rt-Click on Point Group>>Select Export...about four down form the top of the list....
Export to what type of file?

The only option I see for importing data into a survey database is by using landxml.
TheSwamp.org  (serving the CAD community since 2003)