Author Topic: Linking attributes to parameters with calculations?  (Read 9023 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

CHulse

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 504
Linking attributes to parameters with calculations?
« on: January 09, 2009, 02:59:31 PM »
Is it possible to pass numeric data from an attribute on to a parameter (linear) with a calculation (such as multiply it by 1.5)?
Is it possible to pass numeric data from an attribute on to another attribute with a calculation?
Is it possible to pass data from a parameter to an attribute?

and if any of this is possible, how please?

Thanks
Cary Hulse
Urban Forestry Manager
Wetland Studies and Solutions

Civil 3D 2020 & 2023

jnieman

  • Guest
Re: Linking attributes to parameters with calculations?
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2009, 03:00:23 PM »
Not





yet.

CHulse

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 504
Re: Linking attributes to parameters with calculations?
« Reply #2 on: January 09, 2009, 03:01:14 PM »
well that was easy...
Cary Hulse
Urban Forestry Manager
Wetland Studies and Solutions

Civil 3D 2020 & 2023

jnieman

  • Guest
Re: Linking attributes to parameters with calculations?
« Reply #3 on: January 09, 2009, 03:02:55 PM »
depending on application, this may help.

http://www.dailyautocad.com/autocad/parametric-blocks/

CHulse

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 504
Re: Linking attributes to parameters with calculations?
« Reply #4 on: January 09, 2009, 03:15:42 PM »
Well, what I'd like to ultimatly do is insert a block and enter a unique ID# (tree number) as a single attribute. Then I'd like it to link to a database, look up other data about the tree and adjust a set of linear parameters accordingly.
Short of that, I was hoping it could take an attribute with a tree diameter and calculate a couple of other parameters from it.

Currently, I just enter the various parameters as calculated in an excel sheet manually into a VBA form that passes them to the block before I place it.

Pipe dreams perhaps...
Cary Hulse
Urban Forestry Manager
Wetland Studies and Solutions

Civil 3D 2020 & 2023

jnieman

  • Guest
Re: Linking attributes to parameters with calculations?
« Reply #5 on: January 09, 2009, 03:37:40 PM »
There is ="currently"= in Autocad 2009, no way to make "Dimension A" equal to "Dimension B plus 8.44cm"

However, there is a "lookup" function to dynamic blocks that may get you by.

http://www.dailyautocad.com/autocad/dynamic-blocks-and-lookup-parameter/

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 14444
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: Linking attributes to parameters with calculations?
« Reply #6 on: January 09, 2009, 03:49:22 PM »
Is it possible to pass numeric data from an attribute on to a parameter (linear) with a calculation (such as multiply it by 1.5)?
Is it possible to pass numeric data from an attribute on to another attribute with a calculation?
Is it possible to pass data from a parameter to an attribute?

and if any of this is possible, how please?

Thanks

This can be done to some extent with Description Keys in C3D.
You could also do this with a Range Table in MAP.
Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

CHulse

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 504
Re: Linking attributes to parameters with calculations?
« Reply #7 on: January 09, 2009, 03:52:00 PM »
Is it possible to pass numeric data from an attribute on to a parameter (linear) with a calculation (such as multiply it by 1.5)?
Is it possible to pass numeric data from an attribute on to another attribute with a calculation?
Is it possible to pass data from a parameter to an attribute?

and if any of this is possible, how please?

Thanks

This can be done to some extent with Description Keys in C3D.
You could also do this with a Range Table in MAP.


Could you elaborate please?
Cary Hulse
Urban Forestry Manager
Wetland Studies and Solutions

Civil 3D 2020 & 2023

jnieman

  • Guest
Re: Linking attributes to parameters with calculations?
« Reply #8 on: January 09, 2009, 03:53:38 PM »
oops, didn't notice the C3D tag in his signature... *bows out*

CHulse

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 504
Re: Linking attributes to parameters with calculations?
« Reply #9 on: January 09, 2009, 03:55:23 PM »
There is ="currently"= in Autocad 2009, no way to make "Dimension A" equal to "Dimension B plus 8.44cm"

However, there is a "lookup" function to dynamic blocks that may get you by.

http://www.dailyautocad.com/autocad/dynamic-blocks-and-lookup-parameter/


Cool, I wondered what those were. ...but I need to be able to enter any number from 1 to 100 or more including decimals.
Cary Hulse
Urban Forestry Manager
Wetland Studies and Solutions

Civil 3D 2020 & 2023

CHulse

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 504
Re: Linking attributes to parameters with calculations?
« Reply #10 on: January 09, 2009, 03:55:52 PM »
oops, didn't notice the C3D tag in his signature... *bows out*

I appreciate the help!
Cary Hulse
Urban Forestry Manager
Wetland Studies and Solutions

Civil 3D 2020 & 2023

mjfarrell

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 14444
  • Every Student their own Lesson
Re: Linking attributes to parameters with calculations?
« Reply #11 on: January 09, 2009, 03:58:16 PM »
Is it possible to pass numeric data from an attribute on to a parameter (linear) with a calculation (such as multiply it by 1.5)?
Is it possible to pass numeric data from an attribute on to another attribute with a calculation?
Is it possible to pass data from a parameter to an attribute?

and if any of this is possible, how please?

Thanks



Could you elaborate please?

With Description Keys one has use of up to 9 string characters to describe the point. Be default the first  is used to SCALE the point symbol (like a tree), the second to rotate the symbol.

The process with MAP and range tables is a little more complicated.  However one does this through a querry operation.
You can see the Description Keys set up on my site www.primeservicesgloabl.com on the free tutorials page found there.

This can be done to some extent with Description Keys in C3D.
You could also do this with a Range Table in MAP.
Be your Best


Michael Farrell
http://primeservicesglobal.com/

CHulse

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 504
Re: Linking attributes to parameters with calculations?
« Reply #12 on: January 09, 2009, 04:04:31 PM »
Is it possible to pass numeric data from an attribute on to a parameter (linear) with a calculation (such as multiply it by 1.5)?
Is it possible to pass numeric data from an attribute on to another attribute with a calculation?
Is it possible to pass data from a parameter to an attribute?

and if any of this is possible, how please?

Thanks




Could you elaborate please?

With Description Keys one has use of up to 9 string characters to describe the point. Be default the first  is used to SCALE the point symbol (like a tree), the second to rotate the symbol.

The process with MAP and range tables is a little more complicated.  However one does this through a querry operation.
You can see the Description Keys set up on my site www.primeservicesgloabl.com on the free tutorials page found there.

This can be done to some extent with Description Keys in C3D.
You could also do this with a Range Table in MAP.



I'll check it out, thanks Michael
Cary Hulse
Urban Forestry Manager
Wetland Studies and Solutions

Civil 3D 2020 & 2023

whdjr

  • Guest
Re: Linking attributes to parameters with calculations?
« Reply #13 on: January 12, 2009, 08:51:03 AM »
How about creating your own xdata for your specific items?  That's essentially what the Description Keys are if I'm not mistaken.