Author Topic: DLEDIT v.1 (Line type Editor) !  (Read 9888 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Andrea

  • Water Moccasin
  • Posts: 2372
Re: DLEDIT v.1 (Line type Editor) !
« Reply #15 on: December 26, 2008, 09:38:58 PM »
well ok...i understand and I agree....Realy agree..

But we can't have any control on what client want to have.
some of theses force us to use there own program who change entity propreties
before saving... :| so we don't have any choice.
standard for each client is diffrent. Also, If Autodesk allow the possibility to change propreties by entity..
maybe because it have some advantage...what do you think ?

For my own...I don't have any trouble managing over 600 drafters and all client standard.
my programs run for all users over the network path and manage all required function depending
the standard, department, drawing type and do on...

CAD manager can certernly help drafter on how to use AutoCAD..
but can't never control on what client need.



 



« Last Edit: December 26, 2008, 10:16:44 PM by Andrea »
Keep smile...

Andrea

  • Water Moccasin
  • Posts: 2372
Re: DLEDIT v.1 (Line type Editor) !
« Reply #16 on: December 26, 2008, 10:04:15 PM »
Andrea, please chk the file, width option not working here in v2008 for some reason on a pline.
thx.
Keep up the fine work.  For a one man shop, we can choose to use whatever setup is needed for our work, which is mostly one drawing finish projects anyway.  Client doesn't know a CAD drawing from a spreadsheet and never gets the dwg file anyway.  He just flips when it looks 'the way he envisioned'.   

stevesfr....

I've tested the routine on 2006 thru 2009 and work fine..
maybe in a specific drawing ?
Keep smile...

ronjonp

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 7529
Re: DLEDIT v.1 (Line type Editor) !
« Reply #17 on: December 26, 2008, 11:07:35 PM »
well ok...i understand and I agree....Realy agree..

But we can't have any control on what client want to have.
some of theses force us to use there own program who change entity propreties
before saving... :| so we don't have any choice.
standard for each client is diffrent. Also, If Autodesk allow the possibility to change propreties by entity..
maybe because it have some advantage...what do you think ?

For my own...I don't have any trouble managing over 600 drafters and all client standard.
my programs run for all users over the network path and manage all required function depending
the standard, department, drawing type and do on...

CAD manager can certernly help drafter on how to use AutoCAD..
but can't never control on what client need.


Bad drafting habits are bad drafting habits....the worse...someone that does not know any better uses your routine that promotes these habits. Who's fault is it in the end....the tool writer, or the tool user? I'm with MP on this one...the upfront graphics are cool but the drafting behind it is  :evil:.

It's as easy as adding a sub like this rather than hard coding layer properties.

Code: [Select]
(defun changelayercolor (name color / lyr)
  (setq lyr (entget (tblobjname "layer" name)))
  (entmod (subst (cons 62 color) (assoc 62 lyr) lyr))
)
;;(changelayercolor "0" 5)
« Last Edit: December 26, 2008, 11:17:02 PM by ronjonp »

Windows 11 x64 - AutoCAD /C3D 2023

Custom Build PC

stevesfr

  • Newt
  • Posts: 54
Re: DLEDIT v.1 (Line type Editor) !
« Reply #18 on: December 26, 2008, 11:30:16 PM »
Andrea, please chk the file, width option not working here in v2008 for some reason on a pline.
thx.
Keep up the fine work.  For a one man shop, we can choose to use whatever setup is needed for our work, which is mostly one drawing finish projects anyway.  Client doesn't know a CAD drawing from a spreadsheet and never gets the dwg file anyway.  He just flips when it looks 'the way he envisioned'.   

stevesfr....

I've tested the routine on 2006 thru 2009 and work fine..
maybe in a specific drawing ?

On a pline, (W) doesn't even show up as an option with v_1.2,  v_1.2 reacts just like v_1.1    maybe a veriable is set wrong here by accident, but its a clean blank drawing and v_1.2  is a clean download.   double ck please?
Can't remember what I'm supposed to forget.

Andrea

  • Water Moccasin
  • Posts: 2372
Re: DLEDIT v.1 (Line type Editor) !
« Reply #19 on: December 26, 2008, 11:57:45 PM »
one day...

i've received a drawing with layer named

Layer name:1
color: 1

Layer name 2
color 2

etc..

By chance,..they use only the 255 AutoCAD colors..

Imagine at once a drawings contaning over a thousan and a thousan of entity
on each specific Layer only to specify color or linetype ?
that will bring a new problem.....how user will manage these thousand of layers ?
sometime They can't event draw a simple line without Icon.

also,..you need to have diffrent layer with same color....but diffrent lineType.. ?
so for only 5 colors this bring you to have up to 50 layers ??

sure the good way is entity by layer or byblock...(AS POSSIBLE)
i'm not encouraging that practice...but i think that when you have no choice...
the routine i have posted will be useful for many users.

Ron,...who came first ?? the eggs or the chicken ?
for my own.....even the client came after...he's the first.


« Last Edit: December 27, 2008, 12:03:13 AM by Andrea »
Keep smile...

Andrea

  • Water Moccasin
  • Posts: 2372
Re: DLEDIT v.1 (Line type Editor) !
« Reply #20 on: December 27, 2008, 12:13:19 AM »
Andrea, please chk the file, width option not working here in v2008 for some reason on a pline.
thx.
Keep up the fine work.  For a one man shop, we can choose to use whatever setup is needed for our work, which is mostly one drawing finish projects anyway.  Client doesn't know a CAD drawing from a spreadsheet and never gets the dwg file anyway.  He just flips when it looks 'the way he envisioned'.   

stevesfr....

I've tested the routine on 2006 thru 2009 and work fine..
maybe in a specific drawing ?

On a pline, (W) doesn't even show up as an option with v_1.2,  v_1.2 reacts just like v_1.1    maybe a veriable is set wrong here by accident, but its a clean blank drawing and v_1.2  is a clean download.   double ck please?

OK..i'll check and let you know.. thanks. :wink:
Keep smile...

MP

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 17750
  • Have thousands of dwgs to process? Contact me.
Re: DLEDIT v.1 (Line type Editor) !
« Reply #21 on: December 27, 2008, 07:32:42 AM »
one day...

i've received a drawing with layer named

Layer name:1
color: 1

Layer name 2
color 2

etc..

By chance,..they use only the 255 AutoCAD colors..

Imagine at once a drawings contaning over a thousan and a thousan of entity
on each specific Layer only to specify color or linetype ?
that will bring a new problem.....how user will manage these thousand of layers ?
sometime They can't event draw a simple line without Icon.

also,..you need to have diffrent layer with same color....but diffrent lineType.. ?
so for only 5 colors this bring you to have up to 50 layers ??

sure the good way is entity by layer or byblock...(AS POSSIBLE)
i'm not encouraging that practice...but i think that when you have no choice...
the routine i have posted will be useful for many users.

Ron,...who came first ?? the eggs or the chicken ?
for my own.....even the client came after...he's the first.

Try to imagine for a moment that you're not talking to 3 year olds.
Engineering Technologist • CAD Automation Practitioner
Automation ▸ Design ▸ Drafting ▸ Document Control ▸ Client
cadanalyst@gmail.comhttp://cadanalyst.slack.comhttp://linkedin.com/in/cadanalyst

GDF

  • Water Moccasin
  • Posts: 2081
Re: DLEDIT v.1 (Line type Editor) !
« Reply #22 on: December 27, 2008, 09:57:03 AM »
Andrea

Please try and understand that modifing layer properties with hard coding means that your company has no layer standards.
And by mousing a linetype or hatch scale means that each drafter sets their own standard scale by not following a set company standard. Don't you want each drawing at the same scale to look and print the same? We are saying put away the crayons and give each drafter a sharp pencil. We have rulers (scales) for reading printed drawings and for stricking the knuckels of nonconforming (hard coding) drafters.

Gary

P.S. What type of work does your company do?
Why is there never enough time to do it right, but always enough time to do it over?
BricsCAD 2020x64 Windows 10x64

ronjonp

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 7529
Re: DLEDIT v.1 (Line type Editor) !
« Reply #23 on: December 27, 2008, 10:21:05 AM »
...

Ron,...who came first ?? the eggs or the chicken ?
for my own.....even the client came after...he's the first.


Huh? I stand by my previous comment. I even gave you a simple solution... :roll:

Windows 11 x64 - AutoCAD /C3D 2023

Custom Build PC

Andrea

  • Water Moccasin
  • Posts: 2372
Re: DLEDIT v.1 (Line type Editor) !
« Reply #24 on: December 27, 2008, 12:39:49 PM »
again....I understand and I agree..

I only say that sometimes we don't have a choice. :|

Gary, Yes, our company have his own standard, symbols and details...
but again,...some client have there own standard..forced us to change entity propreties..
again, some of our client have there program running on users station who change by itself
propreties entities on draw.

Kind of work:
Buiding electical, Buiding mechanical, Buiding structure, Energy, Environement, Industrie, International,
New technologies, Project Management, transportation, Urbain services, telecom, geomatic, Bridge structure.

We use:
AutoCAD, AutoCAD MAP, CIVIL 3D, 3D studio Max,
Bentley Microstation, Bentley Inroads, Revit Structure, Revit Mechanical, CATIA,

maybe i forgot some..


Michael,
i'm sorry i'm doing my best in english.

Sorry Ron...i forgot to put some smily  ;-)
your code is good and can be added in the DLedit routine. thanks.
Maybe I can add this option ??...hhmm.


« Last Edit: December 27, 2008, 01:00:16 PM by Andrea »
Keep smile...

MP

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 17750
  • Have thousands of dwgs to process? Contact me.
Re: DLEDIT v.1 (Line type Editor) !
« Reply #25 on: December 27, 2008, 01:36:17 PM »
... some client have there own standard ... forced us to change entity propreties ...

... some of our client have there program running on users station who change by itself propreties entities on draw.

Are you really trying to justify bad practices on the basis of statements like this? C'mon.

i'm sorry i'm doing my best in english.

Sorry, you don't get to play that card, the farcical rebuttal / justification statements you're providing have nothing to do with language / grammar / translations.
Engineering Technologist • CAD Automation Practitioner
Automation ▸ Design ▸ Drafting ▸ Document Control ▸ Client
cadanalyst@gmail.comhttp://cadanalyst.slack.comhttp://linkedin.com/in/cadanalyst

Andrea

  • Water Moccasin
  • Posts: 2372
Re: DLEDIT v.1 (Line type Editor) !
« Reply #26 on: December 27, 2008, 01:45:06 PM »
Are you really trying to justify bad practices on the basis of statements like this? C'mon.
hun ?..did you read my post ?

MP.  with respect, and for the last time...sometime we don't have a choice.
why is so difficult to understand ?

i'm sorry i'm doing my best in english.
Sorry, you don't get to play that card, the farcical rebuttal / justification statements you're providing have nothing to do with language / grammar / translations.
well, as i can see.....maybe i wasn't clear.


I'm curious to see how many of you put Leader on diffrent Layer of the text layer !? :kewl:
Keep smile...

Andrea

  • Water Moccasin
  • Posts: 2372
Re: DLEDIT v.1 (Line type Editor) !
« Reply #27 on: December 27, 2008, 01:50:11 PM »
ok..

there we go...

Dledit v. 1.3
I have added this option color.

"Change the color of the (E)ntity or (L)ayer ?"

stevesfr, can you give this a try ?
« Last Edit: December 27, 2008, 01:53:49 PM by Andrea »
Keep smile...

stevesfr

  • Newt
  • Posts: 54
Re: DLEDIT v.1 (Line type Editor) !
« Reply #28 on: December 27, 2008, 02:41:14 PM »
ok..

there we go...

Dledit v. 1.3
I have added this option color.

"Change the color of the (E)ntity or (L)ayer ?"

stevesfr, can you give this a try ?


All works fine except changing width of pline.  When a pline is picked, the command line reads "Select entity to edit" , repeats this same response when any other pline is picked.    I thought perhaps that the system variable "peditaccept" might be the problem, but it does not make any difference if it is set to "1" or "0".   This for sure is a real gremlin hidden deep somewhere in my system or default drawing.
Picking a pline, there is / never was, a colored "stinger"  from mouse to the pline entity, indicating readiness to change width with the mouse movement.   I guess we'll have to "sleep on it" for now.
stevesfr
Can't remember what I'm supposed to forget.

Krushert

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 13679
  • FREE BEER Tomorrow!!
Re: DLEDIT v.1 (Line type Editor) !
« Reply #29 on: December 27, 2008, 03:56:27 PM »
Remember Guys  Cad Standards are based upon this Link

 :angel: :police: :angel: :-)
I + XI = X is true ...  ... if you change your perspective.

I no longer CAD or Model, I just hang out here picking up the empties beer cans