Author Topic: Optimise/ speed up displaying slides  (Read 950 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Charpzy

  • Mosquito
  • Posts: 7
Optimise/ speed up displaying slides
« on: December 23, 2022, 07:42:28 AM »
I've got a dialog box which includes Lee Macs - list tile dependency, once I select the final column (3rd list) 10 slide images (2 images per 5 columns) will load (mostly only 5 images with the odd slide showing under another) after selecting a new slide it runs a "slide-reset" function to default them back to grey.

When I going through the list it can sometimes become slow or delayed in loading the images in, it usually loads the first 2 columns pretty quick but then has a delay on the remaining columns is there anyway I can speed this up? I understand images wont load instantly

SDATA.ini formatted like below:
Code: [Select]
'(
("text......."(("DATUM" "0.0")("615" "15.0" "615-1")("517L" "30.0" "518")("7001" "45.0")))
...
...
)

Code - Auto/Visual Lisp: [Select]
  1. (defun JH:slide-update (itm)
  2.   (setq app-lst (load (findfile "DATA\\SDATA.ini"))
  3.         width (dimx_tile "simage1")
  4.         height (dimy_tile "simage1")
  5.         slide-num 1
  6.   )
  7.   ;; slide-reset
  8.   (foreach num (list 1 2 3 4 5)
  9.     (start_image (strcat "simage" (itoa num))) (fill_image 0 0 width height -15) (end_image)
  10.     (start_image (strcat "simage" (itoa num) "a")) (fill_image 0 0 width height -15) (end_image)
  11.   )
  12.  
  13.   (foreach approach app-lst
  14.     (if (= (car approach) itm)
  15.       (progn
  16.         (foreach item (cadr approach)
  17.           (setq sign (car item)
  18.                 dist (cadr item)
  19.           )
  20.           (start_image (strcat "simage" (itoa slide-num))) (slide_image 0 0 width height (strcat "C:\\BricsCAD Scripts\\SLIDES\\SIGNS\\" (vl-filename-base sign) ".sld")) (end_image)
  21.           (set_tile (strcat "dist" (itoa slide-num)) (strcat dist " meters"))
  22.                
  23.           (if (caddr item)
  24.             (progn
  25.               (setq subplt (caddr item))
  26.               (start_image (strcat "simage" (itoa slide-num) "a")) (slide_image 0 0 width height (strcat "C:\\BricsCAD Scripts\\SLIDES\\SIGNS\\" (vl-filename-base subplt) ".sld")) (end_image)
  27.             )
  28.           )
  29.           (setq slide-num (+ slide-num 1))
  30.         )
  31.       )
  32.     )
  33.   )
  34. )

Lee Mac - http://lee-mac.com/listtiledependency.html

BIGAL

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 1417
  • 40 + years of using Autocad
Re: Optimise/ speed up displaying slides
« Reply #1 on: December 24, 2022, 01:19:20 AM »
This is I think 3rd forum this person has posted questions related to this task.
A man who never made a mistake never made anything

It's Alive!

  • Retired
  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 8722
  • AKA Daniel
Re: Optimise/ speed up displaying slides
« Reply #2 on: December 24, 2022, 03:20:25 AM »
This is I think 3rd forum this person has posted questions related to this task.

was it answered?

d2010

  • Bull Frog
  • Posts: 326
Re: Optimise/ speed up displaying slides
« Reply #3 on: December 24, 2022, 04:38:49 AM »
The BricsCad is top 5/of speed Cadd/Cam and complex 3D: BIM, 3D..
Perhaps C# inside dotnet, downgrade the speed?? :thinking:
Okai if exists others faster CADD programs, they can not  support many , so many features such BricsCAD.
Code: [Select]
Can you check   the speed of desktop?
« Last Edit: December 24, 2022, 04:43:24 AM by d2010 »

Charpzy

  • Mosquito
  • Posts: 7
Re: Optimise/ speed up displaying slides
« Reply #4 on: December 24, 2022, 08:16:28 AM »
This is I think 3rd forum this person has posted questions related to this task.

This is the 2nd forum I posted on related to this task, I'm assuming not everyone uses the same forum so I asked on both to reach out to more people

Crank

  • Water Moccasin
  • Posts: 1503
Re: Optimise/ speed up displaying slides
« Reply #5 on: December 24, 2022, 11:46:30 AM »
- Is 'fill_image' necessary? If it is: Can't you remove the 'slide-reset' code and place the 'fill_image' in the lower part?

- Because the slides are scaled, I think you should try to make slides with a lower resolution: Make a smaller drawing window before you use the MSLIDE command.

- Consider a .slb in stead of several .sld files.
Vault Professional 2023     +     AEC Collection