Author Topic: AutoCAD DUCT Tool  (Read 11351 times)

KewlToyZ

AutoCAD DUCT Tool
« on: September 24, 2008, 06:35:36 PM »
I'm working with some older routines trying to make them into one system for drafting duct.
MEP while it has many bells and whistles consumes too many resources and training for adoption within our company.

I still need to make allowances for length entries in ft like: 12'
And finish structuring the error catch properly.

Let me know if you have a few fitting tools as well.

Attached is the tool thrown together so far.
Too long to post as code. :ugly:

GDF

• Water Moccasin
Re: AutoCAD DUCT Tool
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2008, 09:53:16 AM »
First thing I see is that you need to create the layers first and load the line types.

I'm an architect so I don't do mechanical work, however I have dabbled in it....
For ducts I use a modified version of autocad's dline.lsp routine; in a dialog box interface.

Gary
Why is there never enough time to do it right, but always enough time to do it over?
BricsCAD 2020x64 Windows 10x64

jbuzbee

• Swamp Rat
« Reply #2 on: September 25, 2008, 10:38:37 AM »
Sounds like a suite of dynamic blocks would be easier?
James Buzbee
Windows 8

Matt__W

• Seagull
  • I like my water diluted.
« Reply #3 on: September 25, 2008, 10:43:39 AM »
I just got a bunch of error messages.   :|
Autodesk Expert Elite
Revit Subject Matter Expert (SME)
Owner/FAA sUAS Pilot @ http://skyviz.io

KewlToyZ

« Reply #4 on: September 25, 2008, 11:40:55 AM »
Yeah I have to run a repair routine for it to run on a drawing at times.
Trying to nail down the exact variables causing the measurements to error.
The repair.lsp has a ton of variable settings I use in house for our files to keep standard environments for everyone. There are many other ways to do it, but this is how I've been handling it.