Author Topic: Constrain WB-67 Interstate Semitrailer to turning path  (Read 10051 times)

Dommy2Hotty

• Swamp Rat
Constrain WB-67 Interstate Semitrailer to turning path
« on: July 14, 2008, 04:01:35 PM »
I'm trying to make a dynamic block of a WB-67 Interstate Semitrailer.  What I have so far is the correct sizing for the truck & trailer and what I believe to be the correct turning radii.  I also have independantly rotating cab & trailer.  Is there a way to move the cab to any point of of the turn and have the trailer follow and rotate along trailer turning radius?

jnieman

Re: Constrain WB-67 Interstate Semitrailer to turning path
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2008, 05:25:15 PM »
Not with just a dynamic block, no.

I don't even know how you'd do it programmatically without just redrawing the whole block after the user inputs the point for the cab, but I'm also not a programmer.

You'd have to be able to associate a point or object to always be coincident with another object (centerline) and I don't think that could happen.

Dommy2Hotty

• Swamp Rat
« Reply #2 on: July 15, 2008, 10:28:42 AM »
Well, I did send my contact info to Transoft for the AutoTurn product...used it yesterday, liked what I saw...

http://www.transoftsolutions.com/ProductTmpl.aspx?product=AT

architecture68-raff

• Swamp Rat
  • Strange things are afoot at the Circle-K.
« Reply #3 on: July 15, 2008, 10:36:10 AM »
There is a free open source program called turn.lsp that you may want to check out before you spend any money.
http://www.hawsedc.com/gnu/turn.php

I've never used it personally, but I've heard of others using it as an alternative to Autoturn.
Chicago, Illinois
ADT 2005, Revit Architecture 2009, Sketchup 7

jnieman

« Reply #4 on: July 15, 2008, 11:15:06 AM »
heh

we print out our site plan to scale, and print out the little drawing of the turning radius that goes with DOT guidelines and just sort of over-lay it and see if it works :P