Author Topic: Structural Help  (Read 7924 times)

sea-dawg

Structural Help
« on: August 19, 2008, 03:45:46 PM »
My company asked me to draw a structure that will need to support three transformers that weigh 900 pounds each. Unfortunatly, although the drawing may look nice, I am not a structural engineer. Is there any one on here with their infinate wisdom that might be able to tell me wether or not the structure will be strong enough to support the transfomers.  I have all of the deminsions on the drawing, the only thing that I have not included is the type of steel, all of the steel will be galvanized and be ASTM A-36 grade. Any help would be greatly appreciated as well as any recommendations.

Thanks!

Keith™

• Villiage Idiot
  • Seagull
  • Superior Stupidity at its best
Re: Structural Help
« Reply #1 on: August 19, 2008, 05:00:38 PM »
The pieces of the drawing are not labelled and thus I cannot determine which material you are using for the angles the transformers will be set on. I am going to guess that given the 8' length of the structure it is the 5x3x1/4. Coming from my persepective it seems a little light, but then my calculations are probably based up a more rigid requirement than something of this nature.
Proud provider of opinion and arrogance since November 22, 2003 at 09:35:31 am
CadJockey Militia Field Marshal

Find me on https://parler.com @kblackie

jnieman

« Reply #2 on: August 19, 2008, 05:11:31 PM »
That pdf I printed you didn't preserve the color coding because I plotted it with my color table unintentionally... so the colored text got changed.

Bob Garner

« Reply #3 on: August 19, 2008, 05:38:18 PM »
In the U.s., angles and channels are produced to ASTM A36, Yield strength = 36 ksi.

Wideflange shapes are now produced to ASTM A992, Yield strength = 50 ksi.