Author Topic: Check/Uncheck box in dialog  (Read 4158 times)

quicksilver

Check/Uncheck box in dialog
« on: April 04, 2008, 09:44:31 AM »
I am a total newbie when it comes to the Windows API.  I need to be able to check/uncheck a box on a dialog box in Inventor.  I was hoping that someone could help talk me through this/where to get started?  I can get the dialog box open and active.

Thank you

Keith™

• Villiage Idiot
  • Seagull
  • Superior Stupidity at its best
Re: Check/Uncheck box in dialog
« Reply #1 on: April 04, 2008, 11:30:25 AM »
I take it you want to manipulate the dialog box from some kind of reactor or at very least a VB(a) program that opens the window and does some things ...

You need to know several things, depending upon which you get, will depend upon how many you need ..Lets start with the basics:

To manipulate a windows control via VB(a) you need to use SendMessage or SetWindowLong ... each has positives and negatives ... I'll let you research those ..
To send a message or set the style of a window or control, you need to know the handle, to get that you need to be able enumerate all of the controls on a specific window, that window you will have to find by its class or its handle .. so you see it all revolves around getting that all important handle to the checkbox you want to manipulate.
Handles change from instance to instance, so if you open the window now, it will be one thing, but the next time you open it, it will be different .. so how do we find this with some degree of accuracy ...

By the window caption, but since it isn't a topmost window, how do we know with any degree of certainty what that caption might be ..

We don't unless the caption is static, bet then we don't know that to be true either .. so we have to find the caption of the main application AutoCAD .. this is done relatively easily using the Application.Caption property in VB(a).