Author Topic: Rivet for Casework  (Read 3404 times)

It's Alive!

• BricsCAD
  • Needs a day job
  • AKA Daniel
Rivet for Casework
« on: December 31, 2007, 02:59:12 AM »
Anyone ever use Rivet for drawing Casework?
Would it be possible (in theory) to build a library of parametric casework products,
draw the casework , then extract data for a bill of materials?
Iím just curious, I have never used Rivet before.

Thanks
Daniel

Birdy

Re: Rivet for Casework
« Reply #1 on: December 31, 2007, 08:37:32 AM »
I talked to a Revit guru about this a while ago.  His opinion was that while it may be possible, it would probably be much easier to use Inventor (or a similar competitive product.)

quamper

« Reply #2 on: December 31, 2007, 09:51:07 AM »
I talked to a Revit guru about this a while ago.  His opinion was that while it may be possible, it would probably be much easier to use Inventor (or a similar competitive product.)

I don't use either, however I would think from demoing both that inventor would be harder. Specifically if if your drawing rooms of casework I just don't see that as viable. For individual millwork pieces (like display cabinets, furniture) would probably be great, but runs of standard AWI or WIC casework I just don't see it.

Though I'd love to know otherwise. Pretty much the standard out there is either Cabinet Vision or Microvellum. Or roll your own using the Autocad API.

Dilbert

« Reply #3 on: January 03, 2008, 12:48:25 PM »
Sure you could do it * .