Author Topic: Plot freezeing at 48 bytes in printer que  (Read 6490 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

T.Willey

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 5248
Plot freezeing at 48 bytes in printer que
« on: March 16, 2007, 05:57:53 PM »
I am still having problems with this code.  I'm not sure if its the code or if it's the printer I'm sending my test to.  I have redesigned it a little, and I like the format now better (for now  :-D).  Does anyone have any ideas why it will stop spooling the print file in the printer at 48 bytes?

On a side note:
Does anyone have any simple examples of dragging items in a listview to reorder them?  The ones I have seen seem complicated, but if that is the only way, then I will drive in a see what they are doing.

Thanks in advance.
Tim

I don't want to ' end-up ', I want to ' become '. - Me

Please think about donating if this post helped you.

TonyT

  • Guest
Re: Plot freezeing at 48 bytes in printer que
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2007, 11:56:45 AM »
Does anyone have any simple examples of dragging items in a listview to reorder them?  The ones I have seen seem complicated, but if that is the only way, then I will drive in a see what they are doing.

Hi Tim. 

There's probably no simple examples, because
drag and drop operations in a listview are not
simple. ;)

Have a look here:

   www.codeproject.com/cs/miscctrl/DragAndDropListView.asp



T.Willey

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 5248
Re: Plot freezeing at 48 bytes in printer que
« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2007, 02:38:17 AM »
Does anyone have any simple examples of dragging items in a listview to reorder them?  The ones I have seen seem complicated, but if that is the only way, then I will drive in a see what they are doing.

Hi Tim. 

There's probably no simple examples, because
drag and drop operations in a listview are not
simple. ;)

Have a look here:

   www.codeproject.com/cs/miscctrl/DragAndDropListView.asp



That is what I was scared of Tony, thanks for the conformation.  I will have a look on Monday when I can try some coding with it.
Tim

I don't want to ' end-up ', I want to ' become '. - Me

Please think about donating if this post helped you.

T.Willey

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 5248
Re: Plot freezeing at 48 bytes in printer que
« Reply #3 on: April 03, 2007, 05:36:21 PM »
An update.  I have been talking back and forth with the ADN, and we are not getting anywhere.  They did make me test different things, and the program will plot to file just fine, but that is the only way it will work right now.  If anyone has any idea I would LOVE to get this working.

Thanks in advance.
Tim

I don't want to ' end-up ', I want to ' become '. - Me

Please think about donating if this post helped you.

T.Willey

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 5248
Re: Plot freezeing at 48 bytes in printer que
« Reply #4 on: May 15, 2007, 03:28:00 PM »
                               YES!!!
I finally got it to work.  I had an epiphany last night while trying to sleep.  I change one thing, and now it works.  The problem was I was setting last plot to false until the last drawing selected was to be plotted.  So today I changed it to always be true, and it works.  I think that last plot is only false if you are plotting more than one space per drawing, but since I'm not, it will always be true.

Maybe I confused myself by calling it LastPlot, when in the arx help it calls it LastPage

Should I tell ADN?  They couldn't help me... I guess I will so that someone like me doesn't have to find this out by themselves.

I'm so happy right now.  Attached is the one that works per my testing in '06.
Tim

I don't want to ' end-up ', I want to ' become '. - Me

Please think about donating if this post helped you.

Kerry

  • Mesozoic relic
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 11654
  • class keyThumper<T>:ILazy<T>
Re: Plot freezeing at 48 bytes in printer que
« Reply #5 on: May 15, 2007, 07:00:01 PM »
I'm really happy for you Tim .. I know you've had a tempestuous relationship with this routine.
Perfection is not optional.
Everything will work just as you expect it to, unless your expectations are incorrect.
Discipline: None at all.

--> Donate to theSwamp<--

T.Willey

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 5248
Re: Plot freezeing at 48 bytes in printer que
« Reply #6 on: May 16, 2007, 11:44:30 AM »
I'm really happy for you Tim .. I know you've had a tempestuous relationship with this routine.
Thanks Kerry.  It does feel really good to know this one works.  My old lisp one worked, but this one doesn't close the open drawing, and this one opens them up as read only, so it doesn't matter if they are open already, it will open them and print them.
Tim

I don't want to ' end-up ', I want to ' become '. - Me

Please think about donating if this post helped you.

LE

  • Guest
Re: Plot freezeing at 48 bytes in printer que
« Reply #7 on: May 16, 2007, 11:58:54 AM »
Tim;

I did a quick view to your code, and it is great to see you, now writing in C#.... cheers man! :)

T.Willey

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 5248
Re: Plot freezeing at 48 bytes in printer que
« Reply #8 on: May 16, 2007, 12:15:56 PM »
Tim;

I did a quick view to your code, and it is great to see you, now writing in C#.... cheers man! :)
Thanks Luis.   :-D  Been a long way from when you first starting helping me with Lisp over on the Adesk Ng.
Tim

I don't want to ' end-up ', I want to ' become '. - Me

Please think about donating if this post helped you.

It's Alive!

  • Retired
  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 7494
  • AKA Daniel
Re: Plot freezeing at 48 bytes in printer que
« Reply #9 on: May 16, 2007, 12:19:34 PM »
What no piccy? :-o
Come on, do a victory lap!
Retired

T.Willey

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 5248
Re: Plot freezeing at 48 bytes in printer que
« Reply #10 on: May 16, 2007, 01:18:25 PM »
What no piccy? :-o
Come on, do a victory lap!
Okay just for you.  I guess I should change the version number to 1.0 since it works now.

Side note: Thanks Glenn for posting how to make .Net applications auto load.  I have mine set up like that now, and love it.

Maybe should add a pic of an empty printer que. :-D
Tim

I don't want to ' end-up ', I want to ' become '. - Me

Please think about donating if this post helped you.

It's Alive!

  • Retired
  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 7494
  • AKA Daniel
Re: Plot freezeing at 48 bytes in printer que
« Reply #11 on: May 16, 2007, 01:44:41 PM »
Thank you,
Excellent Work Tim!  8-)
Retired

T.Willey

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 5248
Re: Plot freezeing at 48 bytes in printer que
« Reply #12 on: May 16, 2007, 03:21:02 PM »
Thank you,
Excellent Work Tim!  8-)

Thank you Daniel.
Tim

I don't want to ' end-up ', I want to ' become '. - Me

Please think about donating if this post helped you.

T.Willey

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 5248
Re: Plot freezeing at 48 bytes in printer que
« Reply #13 on: May 17, 2007, 06:40:43 PM »
New question with this routine.  I might have gotten to happy to quickly.

Is there a difference between printers and plotters?  My code will work on printers, but gets and error 'eInvalidInput' when trying to send to the plotter.  I will place some message boxes in my code to see if I can find out where it is coming from.

Thanks in advance.

Edit:  Here is the offending line in my code.  Now to see why.....
Code: [Select]
PltSetVald.SetPlotConfigurationName(PltSet, DeviceName, Paper);
Edit:  I'm thinking the CononicalMediaName is different than the LocalMediaName for the plotter, but not the pritners.  Off to do some testing.......
« Last Edit: May 17, 2007, 06:56:14 PM by T.Willey »
Tim

I don't want to ' end-up ', I want to ' become '. - Me

Please think about donating if this post helped you.

T.Willey

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 5248
Re: Plot freezeing at 48 bytes in printer que
« Reply #14 on: May 17, 2007, 07:32:16 PM »
Edit:  I'm thinking the CononicalMediaName is different than the LocalMediaName for the plotter, but not the pritners.  Off to do some testing.......
That was what I had to do.  Here is the code I used for now.
Code: [Select]
PlotConfig pc = PCM.SetCurrentConfig(DeviceName);
foreach (string str in pc.CanonicalMediaNames) {
if (string.Compare(pc.GetLocalMediaName(str), Paper) == 0) Paper = str;
}
Tim

I don't want to ' end-up ', I want to ' become '. - Me

Please think about donating if this post helped you.