Author Topic: Do you want autocad speak ?  (Read 41198 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

M-dub

  • Guest
Re: Do you want autocad speak ?
« Reply #45 on: January 31, 2007, 02:03:09 PM »
Haha... I just freaked my co-worker out by making it say "I am a computer.  I want to be a real boy.  Can't you please help me?"

She honestly thought it was scary.  :)

Maverick®

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 14777
Re: Do you want autocad speak ?
« Reply #46 on: January 31, 2007, 02:24:41 PM »
Does your cd tray slide out when you tell a lie?  :?

M-dub

  • Guest
Re: Do you want autocad speak ?
« Reply #47 on: January 31, 2007, 03:27:44 PM »
Does your cd tray slide out when you tell a lie?  :?

No, but what an addition to this little routine THAT would be!

"Please Help me!  PLEASE..."   *Out pops the CD Tray, reaching for assistance.*  :lmao:

Krushert

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 13574
  • FREE BEER Tomorrow!!
Re: Do you want autocad speak ?
« Reply #48 on: January 31, 2007, 03:42:22 PM »
Does your cd tray slide out when you tell a lie?  :?

No, but what an addition to this little routine THAT would be!

"Please Help me!  PLEASE..."   *Out pops the CD Tray, reaching for assistance.*  :lmao:

I did something similar to that to a girl (with a nickname of Smurffett)  in the office using the office stereo it's remote.  I had her going for 10 minutes soild. She thought the thing was possessed.    :ugly: :-D
 
I + XI = X is true ...
... if you change your perspective.

M-dub

  • Guest
Re: Do you want autocad speak ?
« Reply #49 on: January 31, 2007, 03:50:49 PM »
I did something similar to that to a girl (with a nickname of Smurffett)  in the office using the office stereo it's remote.  I had her going for 10 minutes soild. She thought the thing was possessed.    :ugly: :-D
 

"What the Smurf!?!  This smurfing thing is smurfed!"   :lmao:

Fuccaro

  • Guest
Re: Do you want autocad speak ?
« Reply #50 on: January 31, 2007, 07:13:22 PM »
AutoCAD will speak only if the OS is Windows XP, right?
Is it possible to detect the OS and call the "talking routine" only if it can talk?

ronjonp

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 7027
Re: Do you want autocad speak ?
« Reply #51 on: January 31, 2007, 07:36:20 PM »
AutoCAD will speak only if the OS is Windows XP, right?
Is it possible to detect the OS and call the "talking routine" only if it can talk?

(getenv "OS")

Did anyone figure out how to detect if sound is muted on the computer and set it to high?

Ron
« Last Edit: January 31, 2007, 07:39:25 PM by ronjonp »

Windows 10 x64 - AutoCAD /C3D 2020

Custom Build PC

Keith™

  • Villiage Idiot
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 16721
  • Superior Stupidity at its best
Re: Do you want autocad speak ?
« Reply #52 on: January 31, 2007, 08:56:49 PM »
You can make Win2000 speak also, but only if the proper updates have been installed. The first development of a speaking system I developed for AutoCAD was done on Win2000 and A2k.

The CD tray thingy can be done in VBA .. and you can call it in lisp ...

VBA Part (put in ThisDrawing window)
Code: [Select]
Private Declare Function mciSendString Lib "winmm.dll" Alias "mciSendStringA" (ByVal lpstrCommand As String, ByVal lpstrReturnString As String, ByVal uReturnLength As Long, ByVal hwndCallback As Long) As Long
Sub OpenCD()
 mciSendString "open CDAudio", vbNull, 0&, vbNull
 mciSendString "set CDAudio door open", vbNull, 0&, vbNull
End Sub

Lisp Part
Code: [Select]
(vl-vbarun "ThisDrawing.OpenCD")

Have fun
Proud provider of opinion and arrogance since November 22, 2003 at 09:35:31 am
CadJockey Militia Field Marshal

Krushert

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 13574
  • FREE BEER Tomorrow!!
Re: Do you want autocad speak ?
« Reply #53 on: January 31, 2007, 09:05:27 PM »
Ohh  I can see this now.

code a reactor  to some Autocad command to invoke the speaking part

With Something like

"Please don't do that, I don't like that. Your hurt me! So there fore I am going to open the CD tray."

Then open the CD tray.

Then load onto a persons computer
I + XI = X is true ...
... if you change your perspective.

StykFacE

  • Guest
Re: Do you want autocad speak ?
« Reply #54 on: February 08, 2007, 08:04:59 AM »
lol, this is hilarious. acaddoc.lsp here i come... haha

GDF

  • Water Moccasin
  • Posts: 1992
Re: Do you want autocad speak ?
« Reply #55 on: February 08, 2007, 10:30:49 AM »
I have been following this thread, and have amazed my coworkers with  my talking computer.
Here is another way to really amaze those around you...

http://www.oddcast.com/home/demos/tts/frameset.php?frame1=talk

Gary
Why is there never enough time to do it right, but always enough time to do it over?
BricsCAD 2019x64 Windows 10x64

CAB

  • Global Moderator
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 10366
Re: Do you want autocad speak ?
« Reply #56 on: February 09, 2007, 07:50:21 AM »
You can make Win2000 speak also, but only if the proper updates have been installed. The first development of a speaking system I developed for AutoCAD was done on Win2000 and A2k.

Keith back in 2002 this update failed Internet Explorer Navigation Sound Update on my Windows 2000 system
I can not get the speech to work, is there any hope or would I have to reinstall Microsoft Internet Explorer?
 
My sound does work & i can play movies with sound. Although I have had problems from time to time with some movies.

PS when I use the link Gary supplied, she just looks at me, not even trying to speak.  :-(

« Last Edit: February 09, 2007, 07:51:46 AM by CAB »
I've reached the age where the happy hour is a nap. (°¿°)
Windows 10 core i7 4790k 4Ghz 32GB GTX 970
Please support this web site.

T.Willey

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 5218
Re: Do you want autocad speak ?
« Reply #57 on: February 09, 2007, 11:07:17 AM »
PS when I use the link Gary supplied, she just looks at me, not even trying to speak.  :-(
x2
Tim

I don't want to ' end-up ', I want to ' become '. - Me

Please think about donating if this post helped you.

terrycadd

  • Guest
Re: Do you want autocad speak ?
« Reply #58 on: February 09, 2007, 11:22:25 AM »
I found this info from others trying to get it to work on Windows 2000.
Code: [Select]
No one has gotten this to work in Windows 2000.
No amount of debuging, kicking or droping the computer on the floor will help.
Here is a section of code that I've included in our AcadDoc.lsp file that we're having fun with here at work.
Code: [Select]
(if (= (getvar "dwgname") "Drawing1.dwg");Run one time per new AutoCAD session
  (progn
    ;Create an association list of Login names and Called names
    (setq LoginNames@ (list ;Type Login names in all capitals
      (cons "JDOE" "John")
      (cons "RCAMPOS" "Ricky");Add names per your AutoCAD department
    ));setq
    (if (not (setq Name$ (cdr (assoc (strcase (getvar "LOGINNAME")) LoginNames@))))
      (setq Name$ "")
    );if
    (setq Hour# (atoi (substr (rtos (getvar "cdate") 2 2) 10)))
    (cond
      ((> Hour# 18) (SayIt (strcat "Good evening " Name$)))
      ((> Hour# 12) (SayIt (strcat "Good afternoon " Name$)))
      (t (SayIt (strcat "Good morning " Name$)))
    );cond
  );progn
);if
Here's the SayIt function
Code: [Select]
(defun SayIt (Phrase$ / Sapi)
  (setq Sapi (vlax-create-object "Sapi.SpVoice"))
  (vlax-invoke Sapi "Speak" Phrase$ 0)
  (vlax-release-object Sapi)
  (princ)
);defun SayIt
« Last Edit: February 09, 2007, 12:55:18 PM by Terry Cadd »

CAB

  • Global Moderator
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 10366
Re: Do you want autocad speak ?
« Reply #59 on: February 09, 2007, 12:47:29 PM »
Thanks Terry for the 2K info.
I've reached the age where the happy hour is a nap. (°¿°)
Windows 10 core i7 4790k 4Ghz 32GB GTX 970
Please support this web site.