Author Topic: Help Understanding How Layers can Benefit me  (Read 6411 times)

quamper

Help Understanding How Layers can Benefit me
« on: January 11, 2007, 05:53:05 PM »
My question is about the use of layers and the importance placed upon them. I'm relatively new in the CAD world (less than a year) having come from an IT background so I don't have alot of CAD experience except what I've been taught by other users at my work and what I've picked up on my own from use and reading. Everything I've read stresses the importance of layers and when talking about CAD standards that's the number one thing I always hear.

I work at a pretty small company with a total of 4 of us using Autocad and there is currently no rhyme or reason for our usage of layers in Autocad for the most part. The only thing we currently use layers for and have set standards is parts that are setup to be cut on our CNC Router as the program that generates the gcode utilizes the layer names for knowing which tooling, cut pattern, speed, etc. However, in our day to day drafting of elevations, sections, etc we very seldom use layers. Realistically most everything is put on layer 0.

My question is why should I use layers? Is there some benefit I'm not seeing that would help me out greatly? I understand if I was working in 3D layers would be critical. However everything we do is 2d and our sections and elevations are pretty well uncluttered, in fact at least a small part of how we get repeat jobs because our drawings look so good and are easy to read/understand (aside from what the quality of what we produce).