Author Topic: Sharing partial MNS in 2007  (Read 9657 times)

dan19936

Sharing partial MNS in 2007
« on: January 07, 2007, 02:24:30 AM »
I'm setting up basic customization for an office on 2007 (and I'm not). I've got access to an installation on a laptop for testing, but won't be using it regularly at all. The customization is a MNS file with a drop down & one toolbar. I've got the MNS to load fine in 2007 on the laptop, however I'm concerned about having the MNS shared across the network for all stations because of the CUI file that is created. Is there a problem having those files shared (with the assumption that users will not be modifying the toolbar or menu).

Thanks,

Dan

Joe Burke

Re: Sharing partial MNS in 2007
« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2007, 09:22:00 AM »
Dan,

I don't know if this will help and I'm no CUI expert.

When you load filename.mns the first time, filename.mnr and filename.cui are created. After that, there is no link between filename.mns and the other two files. An edit to filename.mns will not update the interface.

Assuming you want to continue to edit/modify using the filename.mns file, rather than edit the .cui file itself in the CUI editor, do this. Modify the .mns as needed. Unload and reload the .mns file. That will update the related .mnr and .cui files.

HTH

dan19936

« Reply #2 on: January 07, 2007, 08:56:23 PM »
Joe,