Author Topic: Palette Problem  (Read 22715 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

MickD

  • King Gator
  • Posts: 3619
  • (x-in)->[process]->(y-out) ... simples!
Re: Palette Problem
« Reply #30 on: August 17, 2006, 10:17:11 PM »
Ok, this is an unorthodox way of setting entity prop's but I needed it to get and set some xdata but this simple app shows what I was trying to do.

The prop's dialog code and a class to work with:
Code: [Select]
using System;
using System.Drawing;
using System.Collections;
using System.ComponentModel;
using System.Windows.Forms;
using Autodesk.AutoCAD.Runtime;
using Autodesk.AutoCAD.EditorInput;
using Autodesk.AutoCAD.ApplicationServices;
using Autodesk.AutoCAD.DatabaseServices;
using Autodesk.AutoCAD.Geometry;
namespace CsMgdAcad2
{
// My class for testing, we have to get and set the prop's
// ourselves as these ents may not have .net attributes
// available.
public class MyEnt
{
private Entity m_ent;
private Autodesk.AutoCAD.Colors.Color m_colour;

public MyEnt(ref Entity ent) // takes an entity reference
{
m_ent = ent; // get some info for the prop's grid:
m_colour = ent.Color; // we'll use the colorindex prop.
}

// this is the logical place to change the values
// from the props grid while dialog still open(maybe not ?)
~MyEnt()
{
m_ent.Color = m_colour; // set the new colour:
}

// set some prop's for the prop's grid:
[CategoryAttribute("Object Data"),
DescriptionAttribute("Name of Section")]
public Autodesk.AutoCAD.Colors.Color Colour
{
get
{
return m_colour;
}
set
{
m_colour = value;
}
}
}
/// <summary>
/// Summary description for Props.
/// </summary>
public class Props : System.Windows.Forms.Form
{
private System.Windows.Forms.PropertyGrid propertyGrid1;
/// <summary>
/// Required designer variable.
/// </summary>
private System.ComponentModel.Container components = null;

public Props()
{
//
// Required for Windows Form Designer support
//
InitializeComponent();

//
// TODO: Add any constructor code after InitializeComponent call
//
}

/// <summary>
/// Clean up any resources being used.
/// </summary>
protected override void Dispose( bool disposing )
{
if( disposing )
{
if(components != null)
{
components.Dispose();
}
}
base.Dispose( disposing );
}

#region Windows Form Designer generated code
/// <summary>
/// Required method for Designer support - do not modify
/// the contents of this method with the code editor.
/// </summary>
private void InitializeComponent()
{
this.propertyGrid1 = new System.Windows.Forms.PropertyGrid();
this.SuspendLayout();
//
// propertyGrid1
//
this.propertyGrid1.CommandsVisibleIfAvailable = true;
this.propertyGrid1.LargeButtons = false;
this.propertyGrid1.LineColor = System.Drawing.SystemColors.ScrollBar;
this.propertyGrid1.Location = new System.Drawing.Point(16, 8);
this.propertyGrid1.Name = "propertyGrid1";
this.propertyGrid1.Size = new System.Drawing.Size(256, 400);
this.propertyGrid1.TabIndex = 0;
this.propertyGrid1.Text = "propertyGrid1";
this.propertyGrid1.ViewBackColor = System.Drawing.SystemColors.Window;
this.propertyGrid1.ViewForeColor = System.Drawing.SystemColors.WindowText;
//
// Props
//
this.AutoScaleBaseSize = new System.Drawing.Size(5, 13);
this.ClientSize = new System.Drawing.Size(292, 414);
this.Controls.AddRange(new System.Windows.Forms.Control[] {
  this.propertyGrid1});
this.Name = "Props";
this.Text = "Props";
this.Load += new System.EventHandler(this.Props_Load);
this.ResumeLayout(false);

}
#endregion

private void Props_Load(object sender, System.EventArgs e)
{
Database db =
HostApplicationServices.WorkingDatabase;
Editor ed =
Autodesk.AutoCAD.ApplicationServices.
Application.DocumentManager.MdiActiveDocument.Editor;
Transaction tr =
db.TransactionManager.StartTransaction();
MyEnt myent;
try
{

PromptEntityResult res =
ed.GetEntity("\nPick an entity to get the info:");
Entity ent =
tr.GetObject(res.ObjectId, OpenMode.ForWrite)as Entity;
if(ent != null)
{
myent = new MyEnt(ref ent);
propertyGrid1.SelectedObject = myent;
}
tr.Commit();

}
catch
{

}
finally
{
tr.Dispose();
}
}
}
}

if I try and set the colour of the ent directly in the property's set() I get a eNotOpenForWrite error and a crash!
"Short cuts make long delays,' argued Pippin.”
J.R.R. Tolkien

Glenn R

  • Guest
Re: Palette Problem
« Reply #31 on: August 17, 2006, 10:27:14 PM »
That's what I was expecting you to say Mick about the eNotOpenForWrite - have you tried opening for write whilst it is in your dialog?
It would need this as AutoCAD uses the open/close transaction mechanism...

Actually, on second look, it looks like your myEnt variable is going out of scope too early...

Glenn R

  • Guest
Re: Palette Problem
« Reply #32 on: August 17, 2006, 10:31:33 PM »
Actually, on 3rd look :), your transaction has finished and been commited, so the object is closed.

MickD

  • King Gator
  • Posts: 3619
  • (x-in)->[process]->(y-out) ... simples!
Re: Palette Problem
« Reply #33 on: August 17, 2006, 10:47:35 PM »
Doh!, it's always somethng obvious (to new eye's). I'll see if I can remedy it now. I may have to re-implement it into my app for updating some xdata which was the whole reasom for using it in the first place.
brb
"Short cuts make long delays,' argued Pippin.”
J.R.R. Tolkien

Glenn R

  • Guest
Re: Palette Problem
« Reply #34 on: August 17, 2006, 10:54:43 PM »
Mick, I don't want to have to reproduce your project to test, so can you post the zipped project so I can play...

MickD

  • King Gator
  • Posts: 3619
  • (x-in)->[process]->(y-out) ... simples!
Re: Palette Problem
« Reply #35 on: August 17, 2006, 11:15:47 PM »
No prob's, I had made a few changes before I caught you post but the original code is still above.
The changes -
Code: [Select]
private ObjectId m_entId;
private Autodesk.AutoCAD.Colors.Color m_colour;
private Database db = HostApplicationServices.WorkingDatabase;

public MyEnt(ObjectId entId) // takes an entity ObjectId
{
m_entId = entId; // get some info for the prop's grid:
using(Transaction tr = db.TransactionManager.StartTransaction())
{
Entity ent = tr.GetObject(m_entId, OpenMode.ForWrite)as Entity;
m_colour = ent.Color;
}
}

// update the ent's prop's in the destructor(?)
~MyEnt()
{
using(Transaction tr = db.TransactionManager.StartTransaction())
{
Entity ent = tr.GetObject(m_entId, OpenMode.ForWrite)as Entity;
ent.Color = m_colour; // set the new colour:
}
}
"Short cuts make long delays,' argued Pippin.”
J.R.R. Tolkien

Glenn R

  • Guest
Re: Palette Problem
« Reply #36 on: August 18, 2006, 12:05:51 AM »
Did you get it to work Mick?

MickD

  • King Gator
  • Posts: 3619
  • (x-in)->[process]->(y-out) ... simples!
Re: Palette Problem
« Reply #37 on: August 18, 2006, 12:16:05 AM »
Nope, I put it down after the last post, bigger fish to fry at the moment :). It wouldn't be a bad thing to implement for xdata, it can make the data look like real properties of the objects selected.
I'm just using a simple dilaog at the moment that works fine and is not confused with the proper properties dialog used by acad, i'm happy with that but others may well find a good use for this approach I'd imagine, Dave's grid may be the best answer.
"Short cuts make long delays,' argued Pippin.”
J.R.R. Tolkien

Glenn R

  • Guest
Re: Palette Problem
« Reply #38 on: August 18, 2006, 12:27:01 AM »
I got it to work by axing your desctructor (as in your implementation, you don't know when it will be called - maybe wrap in a using statement or dispose of it the form close down).

Good to see you went objectid's as well - that's the way I would have done it.

Cheers,
Glenn.

MickD

  • King Gator
  • Posts: 3619
  • (x-in)->[process]->(y-out) ... simples!
Re: Palette Problem
« Reply #39 on: August 18, 2006, 12:37:34 AM »
I use id's liberally now since I've had to pass them back and forth to arx/managed and it works very well.
I thought of setting the prop's in the set() method of the MyEnt property, is that what you?
"Short cuts make long delays,' argued Pippin.”
J.R.R. Tolkien

Glenn R

  • Guest
Re: Palette Problem
« Reply #40 on: August 18, 2006, 01:34:49 AM »
Yep - I used objectIds for class stuff in ARX as well.

Yes, I did it in the 'set'.

DBARANAS

  • Guest
Re: Palette Problem
« Reply #41 on: August 18, 2006, 01:37:28 AM »
I have been playing with the property grid example.

I really like that you don't have to manage row and collumns...this is becoming tedious as I plug it in everywhere. I added an array and it shows all the elements and it was no more code to do that!

A good use for that grid is displaying my classes for debugging, I got 1 of my big classes running in the grid I posted, but it was 1000 boring lines of code.

I am trying to get the property grid on a form that goes on a pallette. I get the palette but not the grid. Surprizingly it pops up a separate  acad property palette.

using System;
using System.Collections.Generic;
using System.ComponentModel;
using System.Data;
using System.Drawing;
using System.Text;
using System.Windows.Forms;

namespace PropertyGridTest
{
   public partial class frmProperties : Form
   {
      private AppSettings _appSettings = null;

      public frmProperties()
      {

         InitializeComponent();
         _appSettings = new AppSettings();

      }

      public frmProperties(AppSettings appSettings) : this()
      {
         propertyGrid1.SelectedObject = appSettings;
      }

      private void InitializeComponent()
      {
         this.propertyGrid1 = new System.Windows.Forms.PropertyGrid();
         this.SuspendLayout();
         //
         //propertyGrid1
         //
         this.propertyGrid1.Dock = System.Windows.Forms.DockStyle.Fill;
         this.propertyGrid1.Location = new System.Drawing.Point(0, 0);
         this.propertyGrid1.Name = "propertyGrid1";
         this.propertyGrid1.Size = new System.Drawing.Size(252, 916);
         this.propertyGrid1.TabIndex = 1;
         //
         //frmProperties
         //
         this.ClientSize = new System.Drawing.Size(252, 916);
         this.Controls.Add(this.propertyGrid1);
         this.Name = "frmProperties";
         this.ResumeLayout(false);

      }
      private System.Windows.Forms.PropertyGrid propertyGrid1;
   }

}


MickD

  • King Gator
  • Posts: 3619
  • (x-in)->[process]->(y-out) ... simples!
Re: Palette Problem
« Reply #42 on: August 18, 2006, 01:45:29 AM »
The best way to go is create a user control instead of a form to host the property grid and set the user control in your palette's load method.
Sing out if you need a hand.
"Short cuts make long delays,' argued Pippin.”
J.R.R. Tolkien

DBARANAS

  • Guest
Re: Palette Problem
« Reply #43 on: August 18, 2006, 02:20:07 AM »
I changed it back to a user control and changed the new sub and it works.

I made a class public to fit into the app. I got lucky on this one!!

   public PropertyGridTest.frmProperties ctlProperties = new PropertyGridTest.frmProperties();
   public PropertyGridTest.AppSettings PropertyItems = new PropertyGridTest.AppSettings();

   public void createPaletteProperties()
   {

      pProperties = new Autodesk.AutoCAD.Windows.PaletteSet("Properties", new Guid("99741830-3C35-42ed-8008-B27226C9A188"));
      pProperties.Style = PaletteSetStyles.ShowCloseButton == false;
      pProperties.Style = PaletteSetStyles.ShowTabForSingle == false;
      PropertyItems = new PropertyGridTest.AppSettings();
      ctlProperties = new PropertyGridTest.frmProperties();
      pProperties.Add("Properties", ctlProperties);
      pProperties.Size = new System.Drawing.Size(260, 950);
      pProperties.Dock = Autodesk.AutoCAD.Windows.DockSides.Right;
      pProperties.KeepFocus = true;
      pProperties.Visible = false;

   }

using System.Windows.Forms;

namespace PropertyGridTest
{
   public partial class frmProperties : System.Windows.Forms.UserControl
   {
      //Inherits Form
      private AppSettings _appSettings = null;

      public frmProperties()
      {
         InitializeComponent();
         propertyGrid1.SelectedObject = PropertyItems;
      }

      private void InitializeComponent()
      {
         this.propertyGrid1 = new System.Windows.Forms.PropertyGrid();
         this.SuspendLayout();
         //
         //propertyGrid1
         //
         this.propertyGrid1.Dock = System.Windows.Forms.DockStyle.Fill;
         this.propertyGrid1.Location = new System.Drawing.Point(0, 0);
         this.propertyGrid1.Name = "propertyGrid1";
         this.propertyGrid1.Size = new System.Drawing.Size(252, 916);
         this.propertyGrid1.TabIndex = 1;
         //
         //frmProperties
         //
         this.ClientSize = new System.Drawing.Size(252, 916);
         this.Controls.Add(this.propertyGrid1);
         this.Name = "frmProperties";
         this.ResumeLayout(false);

      }
      private System.Windows.Forms.PropertyGrid propertyGrid1;
   }

}

MickD

  • King Gator
  • Posts: 3619
  • (x-in)->[process]->(y-out) ... simples!
Re: Palette Problem
« Reply #44 on: August 18, 2006, 02:24:18 AM »
*woot!*  :kewl:
"Short cuts make long delays,' argued Pippin.”
J.R.R. Tolkien