Author Topic: Replacing a blank attribute  (Read 1969 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

hudster

  • Gator
  • Posts: 2848
Replacing a blank attribute
« on: July 12, 2005, 12:03:06 PM »
I have a revision block which is inserted each time the drawing is revised.

unfortunately a lot of drawings were done with an attribute being accidentally left blank by a traineein each block.
In previous versions this attribute was filled in with the revisers initials, with the checker signing it by hand.

How can I add the revisers initials to this blank attribute version without changing the previous initials as well?
Revit BDS 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014, AutoCAD 2017, 2016, Navisworks 2017, 2016, BIM360 Glue

David Hall

  • Automatic Duh Generator
  • King Gator
  • Posts: 4076
Replacing a blank attribute
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2005, 12:08:51 PM »
what are the tag names?  they are different right?  Do you want to use VBA and a script to edit lots of dwgs?
Everyone has a photographic memory, Some just don't have film.
They say money can't buy happiness, but it can buy Bacon and that's a close second.
Sometimes the question is more important than the answer. (Thanks Kerry for reminding me)

David Hall

  • Automatic Duh Generator
  • King Gator
  • Posts: 4076
Replacing a blank attribute
« Reply #2 on: July 12, 2005, 12:10:45 PM »
post an example if you can, and I can chane my code real fast and give you a routine
Everyone has a photographic memory, Some just don't have film.
They say money can't buy happiness, but it can buy Bacon and that's a close second.
Sometimes the question is more important than the answer. (Thanks Kerry for reminding me)

hudster

  • Gator
  • Posts: 2848
Replacing a blank attribute
« Reply #3 on: July 12, 2005, 12:19:44 PM »
HERE is a copy of the block, its the BY attribute that isn't filled in, and yes the same block occurs a lot in the same drawing, so I can't use -attedit to change it as it adds the letters GP to the existing blocks.

Cheers
Revit BDS 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014, AutoCAD 2017, 2016, Navisworks 2017, 2016, BIM360 Glue

David Hall

  • Automatic Duh Generator
  • King Gator
  • Posts: 4076
Replacing a blank attribute
« Reply #4 on: July 12, 2005, 12:32:49 PM »
so how do you want to select just the one?
Everyone has a photographic memory, Some just don't have film.
They say money can't buy happiness, but it can buy Bacon and that's a close second.
Sometimes the question is more important than the answer. (Thanks Kerry for reminding me)

David Hall

  • Automatic Duh Generator
  • King Gator
  • Posts: 4076
Replacing a blank attribute
« Reply #5 on: July 12, 2005, 12:38:14 PM »
so do you want a routine that allows you to select a block, and then it fills it in for you?
Everyone has a photographic memory, Some just don't have film.
They say money can't buy happiness, but it can buy Bacon and that's a close second.
Sometimes the question is more important than the answer. (Thanks Kerry for reminding me)

hudster

  • Gator
  • Posts: 2848
Replacing a blank attribute
« Reply #6 on: July 13, 2005, 04:03:49 AM »
I'm looking for something I can script so I can batch process the drawings.
Revit BDS 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014, AutoCAD 2017, 2016, Navisworks 2017, 2016, BIM360 Glue

David Hall

  • Automatic Duh Generator
  • King Gator
  • Posts: 4076
Replacing a blank attribute
« Reply #7 on: July 13, 2005, 10:40:39 AM »
Quote from: Hudster
I'm looking for something I can script so I can batch process the drawings.
OK, I'm confused!!!

Earlier I thought you said there would be multiple instances of the block, and you did NOT want to change them all.  Is this correct?

The code i have will do either a selection where you pick the item or a select all. (thats just how I coded it).

Assuming the block is in the same place in every drawing, you could select a single instance using the coordinates you already know. (You will need to ID a point on the block to get these)  Then you could script it without fixing every instance of the block.

Let me know
Everyone has a photographic memory, Some just don't have film.
They say money can't buy happiness, but it can buy Bacon and that's a close second.
Sometimes the question is more important than the answer. (Thanks Kerry for reminding me)

hudster

  • Gator
  • Posts: 2848
Replacing a blank attribute
« Reply #8 on: July 13, 2005, 11:22:19 AM »
selecting one would be the lesser of two evils.

I'm currently doing this by hand, 200 or so down, anly anout another 2000 or so to go as more projects have been found to be incomplete.
Revit BDS 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014, AutoCAD 2017, 2016, Navisworks 2017, 2016, BIM360 Glue

David Hall

  • Automatic Duh Generator
  • King Gator
  • Posts: 4076
Replacing a blank attribute
« Reply #9 on: July 13, 2005, 11:26:30 AM »
Are they all in the same place so we could script it?
Everyone has a photographic memory, Some just don't have film.
They say money can't buy happiness, but it can buy Bacon and that's a close second.
Sometimes the question is more important than the answer. (Thanks Kerry for reminding me)

David Hall

  • Automatic Duh Generator
  • King Gator
  • Posts: 4076
Replacing a blank attribute
« Reply #10 on: July 13, 2005, 11:29:59 AM »
This is set up for single picks.
Everyone has a photographic memory, Some just don't have film.
They say money can't buy happiness, but it can buy Bacon and that's a close second.
Sometimes the question is more important than the answer. (Thanks Kerry for reminding me)

David Hall

  • Automatic Duh Generator
  • King Gator
  • Posts: 4076
Replacing a blank attribute
« Reply #11 on: July 13, 2005, 11:33:45 AM »
Run it from either a toolbar button or menupick with
Code: [Select]
(command "-vbarun" "E:/Hudster.dvb!Module1.HudRev")
Change E:/ to what ever your path needs to be
Everyone has a photographic memory, Some just don't have film.
They say money can't buy happiness, but it can buy Bacon and that's a close second.
Sometimes the question is more important than the answer. (Thanks Kerry for reminding me)

hudster

  • Gator
  • Posts: 2848
Replacing a blank attribute
« Reply #12 on: July 13, 2005, 12:32:22 PM »
thanks very much that does the job, I've not used VB stuff much, is it hard to learn?
Revit BDS 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014, AutoCAD 2017, 2016, Navisworks 2017, 2016, BIM360 Glue

David Hall

  • Automatic Duh Generator
  • King Gator
  • Posts: 4076
Replacing a blank attribute
« Reply #13 on: July 13, 2005, 12:42:27 PM »
Quote from: Hudster
I've not used VB stuff much, is it hard to learn?

Nope, do you want to join our class? (we are pretty much still just starting so you haven't missed much)
Everyone has a photographic memory, Some just don't have film.
They say money can't buy happiness, but it can buy Bacon and that's a close second.
Sometimes the question is more important than the answer. (Thanks Kerry for reminding me)