Author Topic: Walls ...  (Read 4249 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Hangman

  • Guest
Walls ...
« on: May 14, 2004, 12:03:36 PM »
Question for you guys,
does anyone know how to manipulate a particular hatch pattern to grow or shrink with the sizing of a wall ???

Here's the deal, ...  Architecturally speaking, create a wall, 5 1/2" thick, 10 feet tall.  (Do this in either ADT2k4 or ADT3.3)  For a hatch pattern (we use several types, an ENDGRAIN to represent a wood stud wall, ARSAND & ENDGRAIN at 90deg. to represent a cmu, etc..) ...  these all work without a problem.   Then we come to a steel wall hatch pattern.  We use the ZIGZAG pattern.
The problem I've run into, is that if you create the 5 1/2" wall and put the pattern in at 5'1 scale and 5 5/16 on the Y axis (or whatever is needed to place the zigzag centered in the wall), then copy the wall and change the size to a 3 5/8" wide wall, the hatch pattern does not change to the boundary of the wall.

Thanks all,

If someone can tell me where the lillipond is at, I'd post a picture and/or a dwg for your review.[/img]

ELOQUINTET

  • Guest
Walls ...
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2004, 12:40:35 PM »
maybe i'm misinterpretting you but can't you just make the hatch associative. then if you stretch it the hatch will follow?

Hangman

  • Guest
uploaded
« Reply #2 on: May 14, 2004, 01:05:57 PM »
OK, I think I've got a picture, ...


(Sorry, not the best pic, but this is my first time attempting to show a pic to the world)   :)

Here I have the same wall, copied twice.   The top is the original 5 1/2" wall.  The second wall has been copied and adjusted to 3 5/8" and the third has been copied and adjusted to 8 1/2".   The hatch does not adjust with the wall.

I need to make the hatch within the wall adjustable with the wall.[/img]

ELOQUINTET

  • Guest
Walls ...
« Reply #3 on: May 14, 2004, 01:14:37 PM »
well if you copy it the associative is removed so i don't know of any alternative other than to rehatch but someone else might i'm amazed at what these guys can accomplish. i'd be interested in something like this too so let me know if you find a solution ok  :wink:

CAB

  • Global Moderator
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 10401
Walls ...
« Reply #4 on: May 14, 2004, 01:18:00 PM »
You would have to have the hatch scale change to make that work and
maybe the hatch SNAPBASE.
I think you would be better served with pline drawn as a zigzag.
Even with the pline if you stretched it the zigs could no longer be at 45 deg angles. You would have to redraw the zigzag.

Just my opinion.

CAB
I've reached the age where the happy hour is a nap. (°¿°)
Windows 10 core i7 4790k 4Ghz 32GB GTX 970
Please support this web site.

CAB

  • Global Moderator
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 10401
Walls ...
« Reply #5 on: May 14, 2004, 01:40:38 PM »
You may find this routine useful. change the hatch to yours and adjust the scale factor.
I created it to hatch the bearing walls.
No error checking in the routine.

Code: [Select]
;;;  Creates ANSI37 hatch aligned with  the first two points selected
;;;   Hatch scale 22 , "Y"  = retain border
(defun C:WallHb (/ p1 p2 p3 p4 ang scale usercmd)
  (setq usercmd (getvar "CMDECHO"))
  (setvar "CMDECHO" 0)
  ;(alert "\nFirst Pick Snap base for hatch:")
  ; (command "snapbase" pause)
  (prompt "\nPick boundry points to hatch")
  (setq p1  (getPoint "\nPick first point:")
        p2  (getPoint p1 "\nPick along wall first:")
        p3  (getPoint p2 "\nPick across wall:")
        p4  (polar p1 (angle p2 p3) (distance p2 p3))
        p1  (3dP->2dP p1)
        p2  (3dP->2dP p2)
        p3  (3dP->2dP p3)
        p4  (3dP->2dP p4)
        ang (* 180.0 (/ (angle p1 p2) pi)) ; 45 deg(+ (angle p1 p2) (* pi 0.5))
        scale (/ (distance p2 p3) 0.177) ; works for ANSI37 pattern
   )
  (command "snapbase" p1)
  (command "_.hatch" "ANSI37" scale ang "" "N" p1 p2 p3 p4 "close" "" ) ; Y = draw boundry
   (setvar "CMDECHO" usercmd)
  (princ)
)
(prompt "\nWall Hatch routine loaded.  Enter WallHB to run.")
(Princ)

 ;Make 2D point from 3D point
(defun 3dP->2dP (3dpt)(list (car 3dpt) (cadr 3dpt)))
I've reached the age where the happy hour is a nap. (°¿°)
Windows 10 core i7 4790k 4Ghz 32GB GTX 970
Please support this web site.

Hangman

  • Guest
Walls ...
« Reply #6 on: May 14, 2004, 02:01:43 PM »
Uh ooh, ...

Ok, I've gotta re-explain this, you guys are not understanding.
In ADT, you create a wall in the wall styles.  Then you insert the wall into a drawing.  The wall is like a AECobject.   When one creates a wall, they integrate a hatch pattern to it.  So the wall can be copied, rotated, whatever.  The hatch pattern is integrated into the wall.  In order to change the hatch pattern, you have to go into the wall styles to do this.  You don't just delete the hatch and rehatch it like a 2D dwg.
Here is another example and I'll try to explain:


Ok, on the left you have 6 walls, the three on the far left are the steel stud walls I'm trying to work with.   The next three are just examples of what we use, Wood stud, Brick and stud and CMU. (with these walls, I can designate any width I want and the hatch is ... just there).  On the right are the Wall Styles menus that are used to integrate the hatch into the wall.  These menus are for the Stl Stud wall.   The zigzag hatch pattern runs at 45deg.  So, for the 5 1/2" wall, the scale is at 5'1" and at 315deg. to get it to run along the wall.   Now here's the trick.   You notice the Y axis is at 5 5/16".  This was offset so that the zigzag would be centered on the wall as shown.  This is how I want it to look on the 5 1/2" wall.   Now my problem is that the 3 5/8" wall (& the 8 1/2" wall), you notice the hatch is not centered in the wall.   It is the same wall, just designated to be a 3 5/8" or 8 1/2" wall (the hatch is still scaled at 5'1, 315deg and Y axis at 5 5/16").   I cannot find anywhere that will allow me to set the ltscale or hatch scale to match what the wall is designated in width.   Does that make sense ???
So, I'm assuming that, if possible, ...  create a hatch pattern that will adjust as the wall property is designated to different widths?.  How would this be done ???
Or, perhaps create a line that can be put into hatch pattern to be put into the wall ?.  Can that be done ???  I have designated a line to be put into a wall in ADT 3.3 but I cannot find that feature in ADT2k4.   Would it be possible to write a LISP that will access these menus to adjust the scale and/or X-Y axis to center the hatch in the wall when the wall is set to a width different from the original creation ???
Am I getting too deep into this and asking too much ???   :D

Hangman

  • Guest
Walls ...
« Reply #7 on: May 14, 2004, 02:21:46 PM »
Ok, here is another example of the walls I am working with.   Perhaps this will also give you a better idea of what I am trying to describe.



This is just my basic 2x Stud wall.   Three of the exact same wall, just different widths.  Notice the hatch in all three.   On the right is the properties menu and the 10" wall on the bottom is selected.  This is where one would edit the width of the wall.  But the internal components of the wall are edited in the wall styles menus as shown in the previous post above.
This hatch is a pattern that, no matter what the width of the wall, will fit the wall without a problem.   The ARSAND is the same.   However, the ZIGZAG, being a hatch pattern, is several zigzagging lines.   I need one of these zigzagging lines of the ZIGZAG hatch pattern, centered and scaled on the wall, no matter the width designation.

I hope these helped, cause I don't know how else I'm going to be able to explain this.   :cry:

ELOQUINTET

  • Guest
Walls ...
« Reply #8 on: May 14, 2004, 02:53:34 PM »
ummm forgive me if i'm asking a stupid question but if you are drawing a plan why do you use the wall command why not just draw your plan in 2d with plain lines and use hatches. we have adt 3.3 here but don't really use anything except the symbols. then again i'm in manufacturing in which case i don't know why we even have adt but hey that's what i work with so... anyway don't really have an answer for ya sorry

Keith™

  • Villiage Idiot
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 16899
  • Superior Stupidity at its best
Walls ...
« Reply #9 on: May 14, 2004, 04:26:37 PM »
Dan, the reason for using the wall command is because you can create elevations and sections very easy when they are AEC objects.

Now to answer the question you have regarding the wall sizes. Why not simply create a different style for 3 1/2" 5 1/2" and 7 1/2" walls, then in each wall style set the scaling of the hatch to match the size of the wall.

That would seem to be the simplest solution.
Proud provider of opinion and arrogance since November 22, 2003 at 09:35:31 am
CadJockey Militia Field Marshal

Find me on https://parler.com @kblackie

ELOQUINTET

  • Guest
Walls ...
« Reply #10 on: May 14, 2004, 04:39:13 PM »
yeah true but like i say i'm in manufacturing so i do alot of detailing but yeah i suppose that would be useful you're doing those types of drawings

Hangman

  • Guest
Walls ...
« Reply #11 on: May 14, 2004, 04:57:09 PM »
Dan,
As Keith mentioned, it is very easy to create elevations and sections but another reason (well, many reasons ...), and it's easier done than said;
lets describe our way through creating a room.
The first way, we'll call board drafting.  The second, cad drafting.   :D
Ok ...  so, ... with board drafting you draw a line the length you need.
You offset that line the width of the wall you need.
You close the ends so you can hatch the wall with the pattern to describe the type of wall you have.
You pick the hatch, set the scale and hatch the wall.

With cad drafting, you place a wall.
You stretch the wall the length you need.
(Your done at this point.  The hatch, the ends, the heighth, already taken care of)

With board drafting, you draw a line perpendicular to the wall to represent the outside face of the door.
You offset that line the width of the door.
You close the ends.
You draw an arc to represent the swing of the door.
You trim the wall for the opening of the door.
You re-hatch the wall.

With cad drafting, you pick the wall where you want the door.
you specify the type of door.
(Your done at this point.   The wall, the door, the hatch, everything.)



Keith, That is currently what we have, a set of roughly six stl stud walls of different widths.   We use it as a template more or less, just drop it into the drawing and designate the wall we want then purge the others when the project is near completion.   It gets to making a bulky dwg and a bit confusing when you have several types of walls as well as types of sizes or widths.   I'm trying to consolidate it but can't find a solution for steel stud walls.

42

  • Bull Frog
  • Posts: 483
Walls ...
« Reply #12 on: May 14, 2004, 06:25:02 PM »
Do not go away, I too use ADT 3.3. This problem is intriguing. I tend to use the ANS137 hatch for steel stud walls but only because the insulation can not be used. If I can I will.

Alastair
Alastair Mallett Autodesk Certified Professional
Technical Director
Hunters South Architects