TheSwamp

Code Red => Dynamo => Topic started by: hudster on January 20, 2016, 11:21:21 AM

Title: Code Blocks in Dynamo
Post by: hudster on January 20, 2016, 11:21:21 AM
A nice article explaining the use of Code blocks in Dynamo to replace strings, formulas etc.

http://dynamobim.com/cbns-for-dummies/ (http://dynamobim.com/cbns-for-dummies/)
Title: Re: Code Blocks in Dynamo
Post by: Matt__W on January 20, 2016, 11:40:52 AM
I have yet to see anything I could use Dynamo for on the MEP side of things (other than maybe extracting info to Excel). I think they'd frown upon spiral duct systems or conduits in the shape of a cow.

Don't get me wrong, I think it's great for architects to be able to perform some iterative designs quickly. It certainly has it's place.
Title: Re: Code Blocks in Dynamo
Post by: hudster on January 20, 2016, 11:57:20 AM
I have yet to see anything I could use Dynamo for on the MEP side of things (other than maybe extracting info to Excel).

I'm in MEP side and I can see lots of benefits, anything repetitive can be done with Dynamo.

We are currently looking at

Also I've used it to copy parameters from a linked architects model to an excel sheet, then copied that sheet back into our model, but populating our shared parameter information.

What I'm aiming for is a set of Dynamo scripts which can set up a project for us, quickly. all our standards in place by running a few scripts sounds good to me.
Title: Re: Code Blocks in Dynamo
Post by: Matt__W on January 20, 2016, 01:30:56 PM
I have yet to see anything I could use Dynamo for on the MEP side of things (other than maybe extracting info to Excel).

I'm in MEP side and I can see lots of benefits, anything repetitive can be done with Dynamo.

We are currently looking at
    Copy/Monitoring Levels
    Creating views with added templates
    Creating Sheets
    Creating Worksets
    Creating Spaces from Rooms
    Schedules

Also I've used it to copy parameters from a linked architects model to an excel sheet, then copied that sheet back into our model, but populating our shared parameter information.

What I'm aiming for is a set of Dynamo scripts which can set up a project for us, quickly. all our standards in place by running a few scripts sounds good to me.
I have a central model template model set up that has schedules, worksets, levels already in it. Placing spaces is easy enough using the place automatically function.
Title: Re: Code Blocks in Dynamo
Post by: Matt__W on January 27, 2016, 01:34:53 PM
I have yet to see anything I could use Dynamo for on the MEP side of things (other than maybe extracting info to Excel).

I'm in MEP side and I can see lots of benefits, anything repetitive can be done with Dynamo.

We are currently looking at
    Copy/Monitoring Levels
    Creating views with added templates
    Creating Sheets
    Creating Worksets
    Creating Spaces from Rooms
    Schedules

Also I've used it to copy parameters from a linked architects model to an excel sheet, then copied that sheet back into our model, but populating our shared parameter information.

What I'm aiming for is a set of Dynamo scripts which can set up a project for us, quickly. all our standards in place by running a few scripts sounds good to me.
Take a look at the AU site and search for class # AS10613. Marcello Sgambelluri has a lot of really cool examples in there. Also, search for his name on the site for other Dynamo classes he taught.