TheSwamp

CAD Forums => CAD General => Revit => Topic started by: Krushert on July 11, 2012, 08:21:55 AM

Title: Revit Ceiling height will not blank out
Post by: Krushert on July 11, 2012, 08:21:55 AM
Okay I learning Revit on the fly and I inadvertantly put a value in the celing height parameter for a room.  I need this parameter to be blank and Revit will not let me.  It thows up
Quote
enter a value or formula starting with '='
  I tried "NUL" and did not like that either.

Google search was no help.
Title: Re: Revit Ceiling height will not blank out
Post by: Matt__W on July 11, 2012, 08:39:38 AM
You either have a ceiling at a height or no ceiling at all.  The height value cannot be NULL (but you COULD make it 0'-0").
Title: Re: Revit Ceiling height will not blank out
Post by: Krushert on July 11, 2012, 08:52:49 AM
I tried 0'-0" but that shows in the schedule.  I want the schedule to be blank.  It will read blank if I do not input anything at all like I have for other rooms with exposed structure.  Worse case I will delete the room and start over.   :|
Title: Re: Revit Ceiling height will not blank out
Post by: Matt__W on July 11, 2012, 09:03:32 AM
I tried 0'-0" but that shows in the schedule.  I want the schedule to be blank.  It will read blank if I do not input anything at all like I have for other rooms with exposed structure.  Worse case I will delete the room and start over.   :|
If you have an exposed structure, WHY are you adding a ceiling??


architects are dumb
Title: Re: Revit Ceiling height will not blank out
Post by: Krushert on July 11, 2012, 09:13:26 AM
I tried 0'-0" but that shows in the schedule.  I want the schedule to be blank.  It will read blank if I do not input anything at all like I have for other rooms with exposed structure.  Worse case I will delete the room and start over.   :|
If you have an exposed structure, WHY are you adding a ceiling??

From my OP with large bold print for blind MEPs
Okay I learning Revit on the fly and I inadvertently put a value in the ceiling height parameter for a room. 

architects are dumb
No argument there.  :lol:
Title: Re: Revit Ceiling height will not blank out
Post by: Nibster on July 11, 2012, 09:16:27 AM
what version are you using?  do you want the room height to go up to structure?  this is for calcs, right?
Title: Re: Revit Ceiling height will not blank out
Post by: Matt__W on July 11, 2012, 09:24:42 AM
I tried 0'-0" but that shows in the schedule.  I want the schedule to be blank.  It will read blank if I do not input anything at all like I have for other rooms with exposed structure.  Worse case I will delete the room and start over.   :|
If you have an exposed structure, WHY are you adding a ceiling??

From my OP with large bold print for blind MEPs
Okay I learning Revit on the fly and I inadvertently put a value in the ceiling height parameter for a room. 

architects are dumb
No argument there.  :lol:
If you have an exposed structure, you don't have a ceiling.  Delete it.
Title: Re: Revit Ceiling height will not blank out
Post by: Nibster on July 11, 2012, 09:29:49 AM
and from what I can tell, he's saying that the ROOM OBJECT has a ceiling height parameter that accidentally got filled in...  :-P
Title: Re: Revit Ceiling height will not blank out
Post by: Matt__W on July 11, 2012, 09:58:24 AM
and from what I can tell, he's saying that the ROOM OBJECT has a ceiling height parameter that accidentally got filled in...  :-P
ROOMs have a LIMIT OFFSET that you can use to get the volume of the room regardless of whether or not there's a ceiling placed.  But the LIMIT OFFSET must be greater than 0.
Title: Re: Revit Ceiling height will not blank out
Post by: Rob... on July 11, 2012, 10:03:51 AM
Pass the popcorn, please...
Title: Re: Revit Ceiling height will not blank out
Post by: Krushert on July 11, 2012, 11:10:25 AM
If you have an exposed structure, you don't have a ceiling.  Delete it.
I never entered any ceiling model geometry.  In ROOM OBJECT that I enter data into that populates things like room tags and room finish shedule is where I made my mistake.  I am trying to clear that there.  See attached screen shot.

ROOMs have a LIMIT OFFSET that you can use to get the volume of the room regardless of whether or not there's a ceiling placed.  But the LIMIT OFFSET must be greater than 0.
  Covered that
Title: Re: Revit Ceiling height will not blank out
Post by: Krushert on July 11, 2012, 11:13:40 AM
what version are you using?
2012 Arch

do you want the room height to go up to structure? 
Yes.  Structure slopes.   I think I have this covered with
my limits offsets

this is for calcs, right?
Yes
Title: Re: Revit Ceiling height will not blank out
Post by: Matt__W on July 11, 2012, 11:23:35 AM
CEILING HEIGHT is not a default parameter in room objects.  I'm guessing someone has created a project parameter for that.

To check, click on MANAGE --> PROJECT PARAMETERS and see if there's a CEILING HEIGHT parameter in there.
Title: Re: Revit Ceiling height will not blank out
Post by: Krushert on July 11, 2012, 11:54:13 AM
Yes it is there.  And when I click the modify button, I see that its group parameter is "other" and under Categories the "Rooms" is checked.
Title: Re: Revit Ceiling height will not blank out
Post by: Matt__W on July 11, 2012, 01:34:42 PM
Yes it is there.  And when I click the modify button, I see that its group parameter is "other" and under Categories the "Rooms" is checked.
Yeah, so it's something that someone made up.  You don't need a custom parameter to calculate the volume of a room.  What you need to do is turn on volume calcs (which are turned off by default to speed up Revit).  The room object will then show the calculated volume.

So now you can tell whoever it is that created that parameter that it's not needed.  And you will then be crowned the "Revit King".  :)
Title: Re: Revit Ceiling height will not blank out
Post by: Krushert on July 11, 2012, 02:02:47 PM
Okay I understand the room voluming part by using the limits thing.  And I knew it had to be turned on.  We will eventually do the calcs but for know I will leave that off.

What I think the person did was that they created this ceiling parameter for Room Finish Schedule to indicate where a particular ceiling finish like Acoustical Ceiling Tile is in height

Now here is another question for the real world application.   With something porous as a Ceiling grid, is that the limit of the room for  the voluming calcs or does voluming calcs has to consider the space above the Ceiling Grid? 

So that
Title: Re: Revit Ceiling height will not blank out
Post by: Krushert on July 11, 2012, 03:58:24 PM
But that still does not help me clear my project parameter so it will correctly show in Finish Schedule.

This afternoon has gotten crazy, sorry for the terse response.
Title: Re: Revit Ceiling height will not blank out
Post by: Matt__W on July 11, 2012, 04:11:29 PM
But that still does not help me clear my project parameter so it will correctly show in Finish Schedule.

This afternoon has gotten crazy, sorry for the terse response.
When you place a ROOM object, the CEILING HEIGHT parameter is blank by default.  As soon as you enter a value, all bets are off.  There's no going back to a NULL value.  It expects a dimension.  You could set it to 0'-0" and have a note about 0-height ceilings or, as a last resort, delete the room objects and replace them.  Of course, by doing this, you also lose any information that you previously entered.  I.E. room name, number, finish types, upper/lower limits, etc...