TheSwamp

Code Red => .NET => Topic started by: Kerry on September 27, 2006, 06:17:48 AM

Title: C# net IDE
Post by: Kerry on September 27, 2006, 06:17:48 AM
Which IDE do you have available for writing and trsting lesson code?
.. for AC2007 only ...

Title: Re: C# net IDE
Post by: MP on September 27, 2006, 07:47:31 AM
VS 2005.

Does anyone else see the humour of "testing" spelled as "trsting"?

OK, it's early, I've not had a coffee yet.

Carry on.

Title: Re: C# net IDE
Post by: Kerry on September 27, 2006, 08:17:05 AM
I think it's bloody hilarious ... but I've had too much coffee today :-)
Title: Re: C# net IDE
Post by: MP on September 27, 2006, 08:18:42 AM
Light roast was it?

:)
Title: Re: C# net IDE
Post by: MP on September 27, 2006, 08:47:57 AM
Subtitle: Light roast has more caffeine than dark roast despite common misconception.

Quote from: Wikipedia
(link) (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Caffeine): Generally, dark-roast coffee has less caffeine than lighter roasts because the roasting process reduces the bean's caffeine content.
Title: Re: C# net IDE
Post by: Glenn R on September 27, 2006, 09:23:33 AM
Right at this moment, I'm not actively developing for 2007, however, I have VS 2005 Pro and C# Express, if that's of any help Kerry.

Cheers,
Glenn.
Title: Re: C# net IDE
Post by: Draftek on September 27, 2006, 09:55:52 AM
wow, I got a laugh AND I learned something - The perfect Thread.

I admit, I'm a Microsoft prisoner.
Title: Re: C# net IDE
Post by: David Hall on September 27, 2006, 09:58:33 AM
I have C# Express 05.  Question reagarding it as well, in 03 I could start Acad in the debug process, I cant figure out how to do that in 05 express.
Title: Re: C# net IDE
Post by: Atook on September 27, 2006, 10:13:42 AM
VS 2005. And I'ld love to see a class for it here!
Title: Re: C# net IDE
Post by: Troy Williams on September 27, 2006, 12:41:45 PM
I have express. I haven't played with Acad in ages. It would be nice to get back into the thick of things again...
Title: Re: C# net IDE
Post by: Mark on September 27, 2006, 02:48:52 PM
I'm waiting on Windows SP2 so I can install the express edition.
Title: Re: C# net IDE
Post by: Kerry on September 27, 2006, 03:57:04 PM
I have C# Express 05.  Question reagarding it as well, in 03 I could start Acad in the debug process, I cant figure out how to do that in 05 express.


David, this may interest you
http://through-the-interface.typepad.com/through_the_interface/2006/07/debugging_using.html
I haven't tried it for C#, but "it should work" ...

/// kwb
Title: Re: C# net IDE
Post by: David Hall on September 27, 2006, 05:18:05 PM
I'll give it a try!!!!
Title: Re: C# net IDE
Post by: Paul Richardson on September 27, 2006, 11:00:38 PM
I have C# Express 05.  Question reagarding it as well, in 03 I could start Acad in the debug process, I cant figure out how to do that in 05 express.


David, this may interest you
http://through-the-interface.typepad.com/through_the_interface/2006/07/debugging_using.html
I haven't tried it for C#, but "it should work" ...

/// kwb

It works great; I used C# and C++ express for a while with 07. Debugging works for both, and you can even set up C++ express to use the 07 Arx Wizard.
Title: Re: C# net IDE
Post by: Kerry on September 28, 2006, 06:40:05 AM
Paul, did you have any joy getting the 'Wizard' to work in C# Express ?

Any tips to share about setting up for Debugging with C# Express ?

Now that MS have declared that the Express Editions will be "Free Forever" I imagine a few more people may be interested.


Title: Re: C# net IDE
Post by: LE on September 28, 2006, 09:32:15 AM
About the ObjectARX wizard, I read it here:

http://through-the-interface.typepad.com/through_the_interface/objectarx/index.html

"Getting the ObjectARX Wizard to work with Visual Studio Express editions"

Just at the bottom of the page.
Title: Re: C# net IDE
Post by: David Hall on September 28, 2006, 10:54:35 AM
I got it to launch Autocad in Debug mode, but here is the kicker:  None of my C# commands work.  Before you ask, yes I netloaded my dll.  I also tested this on a full seat (Not Express edition) with the same results.  If you launch Acad from C#, nothing works.

Just to prove it, I launched acad separately, netloaded, and everything worked.  Comments?  Suggestions?  Help me please.....
Title: Re: C# net IDE
Post by: Draftek on September 28, 2006, 02:58:10 PM
David,

On your AutoCAD managed classes references, change the Copy Local property to false.
Title: Re: C# net IDE
Post by: Kerry on September 28, 2006, 05:32:17 PM
As Draftek said change properties .. a piccy in case anyone is not sure.

For both acdbmgd and acmgd


Title: Re: C# net IDE
Post by: Paul Richardson on September 28, 2006, 10:40:19 PM
Paul, did you have any joy getting the 'Wizard' to work in C# Express ?

Any tips to share about setting up for Debugging with C# Express ?

Now that MS have declared that the Express Editions will be "Free Forever" I imagine a few more people may be interested.




Hey Kerry,

To debug in C# and I assume vb - Express.
1. Debug pulldown -> Exceptions -> Managed Debugging Assistants -> Uncheck 'Loader Lock'
2. Add an xml file to the root of your project. 'projectName.csproj.user' which is not created in
   the express versions. If you download the Labs from the Autodesk net group you copy one
   from there. Here is a sample; just change 'Start Program' to the version of Autocad you're using
   and debug away... Nice thing about the Express versions if that they are a lot quicker than VS2005
   pro. Pro has a lot of lag when typing and deleting files. I thought it was my wireless keyboard at first
   until I googled and found other with the same problem.

Code: [Select]
<Project xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/developer/msbuild/2003">
  <PropertyGroup Condition=" '$(Configuration)|$(Platform)' == 'Debug|AnyCPU' ">
    <StartAction>Program</StartAction>
    <StartProgram>C:\Program Files\AutoCAD 2007\acad.exe</StartProgram>
  </PropertyGroup>
  <PropertyGroup Condition=" '$(Configuration)|$(Platform)' == 'Release|AnyCPU' ">
    <StartAction>Program</StartAction>
    <StartProgram>C:\Program Files\AutoCAD 2007\acad.exe</StartProgram>
  </PropertyGroup>
</Project>

If you have any issues, I'll attach and actual file. Let me know.

Paul


As for the Wizard I didn't get it to work in C#, and really didn't care since it doesn't do much for a managed project. Kean did post a solution on his blog. The wizard does however work for native ARX
using C++ express.
Title: Re: C# net IDE
Post by: Paul Richardson on September 28, 2006, 10:55:12 PM
I got it to launch Autocad in Debug mode, but here is the kicker:  None of my C# commands work.  Before you ask, yes I netloaded my dll.  I also tested this on a full seat (Not Express edition) with the same results.  If you launch Acad from C#, nothing works.

Just to prove it, I launched acad separately, netloaded, and everything worked.  Comments?  Suggestions?  Help me please.....

If you don't want to change 'copy local' every time, make the following registry change to:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Autodesk\AutoCAD\R17.0\ACAD-5001:409\Applications\AcMgd

Edit as follows:
double click 'LOADCTRLS' and change 'Value data:' from 'e' to 'c'.
Title: Re: C# net IDE
Post by: Kerry on September 29, 2006, 05:43:24 AM
Thanks Paul.

Title: Re: C# net IDE
Post by: David Hall on September 29, 2006, 10:07:13 AM
You guys ROCK once again.  Life is good in the IDE again

Thanks again
Title: Re: C# net IDE
Post by: Kerry on January 19, 2007, 10:15:08 PM
Just an update !

Kean Walmsley's Managed application templates for VB and C# Express Editions

http://through-the-interface.typepad.com/through_the_interface/2007/01/managed_applica.html
Title: Re: C# net IDE
Post by: Jeff_M on January 20, 2007, 07:53:42 PM
Thanks,  Kerry.

I managed to get this to work, but not per the directions on that page. For whatever reason, my C# Express installation does not show any templates saved in the User defined templates path. Instead, I had to place them here:
C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio 8\VC#\CSharpProjects