Author Topic: Publishing thousand+ drawings from a complicated file system  (Read 3002 times)

STHAL

Hello all,
         First a little background into my problem and a semi introduction as this is my first time here! I was recently hired at a mid sized engineering company where at the time I was hired due to my experience with solidworks. On my first day I was told that management decided that they no longer wanted me working in the division that uses solidworks but instead the one that uses autocad- a platform I hadn't really used before. So now I am trying to figure out the ins and outs of a new platform and have been having trouble finding away to print out thousands of drawings using the publish or plot command (this is my first "task" which is to print out a few projects as part of a technology transfer). It has become apparent that I was tasked this as I was the new guy and the company really doesn't have any GOOD way of doing these types of jobs so they just pass it onto whatever new guy comes around.

Printing normally wouldn't be too difficult to do except for the fact that we have a fairly complicated file system that is used to store drawings. As a result in order to add the drawings into the publisher I have to essentially navigate a dozen some folders going back and forth between them for every part. I timed myself and it essentially takes 1 minute per drawing to print it to the pdf over 1000 drawings this comes up to a whopping 2 full days just to print! From previous posts on this forum I was able to learn a little autolisp which I think could be used for this printing, if not autolisp then perhaps VBA (which I have yet to really look into).

Ok so a little more details on the problem at hand.
parts are put into drawings based on a filing system as follows: