Author Topic: Entity Locking, How to?  (Read 3376 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Jim Yadon

  • Guest
Entity Locking, How to?
« on: April 21, 2006, 06:55:57 AM »
I have a challenge for you folks. I would have no idea how to do it myself so I wouldn't even know where to start.

Here are the criteria-
  • Lock a single entity.
  • The layer itself cannot be locked. You have to have freedom to modify anything else on that layer.
  • Nothing about the object can be changed. Not a single attribute or property.
  • It has to work with any geometry (including text) in AutoCAD





EDIT: Thread title change ;)
« Last Edit: April 22, 2006, 08:34:05 PM by CAB »

Keith™

  • Villiage Idiot
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 16899
  • Superior Stupidity at its best
Re: (CHALLENGE) Entity Locking
« Reply #1 on: April 21, 2006, 08:33:50 AM »
Kinda hard to lock an entity without being able to modify the entity. Please clarify, as even an object reactor may modify an entity.
Proud provider of opinion and arrogance since November 22, 2003 at 09:35:31 am
CadJockey Militia Field Marshal

Find me on https://parler.com @kblackie

LE

  • Guest
Re: (CHALLENGE) Entity Locking
« Reply #2 on: April 21, 2006, 11:48:04 AM »
I posted here the routine KEEP... it does basically what you want, do a search and if you can't find it, I'll posted here again.

HTH

GDF

  • Water Moccasin
  • Posts: 2081
Re: (CHALLENGE) Entity Locking
« Reply #3 on: April 21, 2006, 11:55:23 AM »
I have a challenge for you folks. I would have no idea how to do it myself so I wouldn't even know where to start.

Here are the criteria-
  • Lock a single entity.
  • The layer itself cannot be locked. You have to have freedom to modify anything else on that layer.
  • Nothing about the object can be changed. Not a single attribute or property.
  • It has to work with any geometry (including text) in AutoCAD

EDIT: Thread title change ;)


;;; Lockdown.lsp Written By: Peter Jamtgaard copr 2004
;;; This routine will lock down layers so they cannot be unlocked <uses a reactor>


Go to http://www.waun.org/
Post the request to Peter for the routine.

Works great.

Gary

Why is there never enough time to do it right, but always enough time to do it over?
BricsCAD 2020x64 Windows 10x64

CAB

  • Global Moderator
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 10401
Re: (CHALLENGE) Entity Locking
« Reply #4 on: April 21, 2006, 04:28:52 PM »
I've reached the age where the happy hour is a nap. (°¿°)
Windows 10 core i7 4790k 4Ghz 32GB GTX 970
Please support this web site.

CAB

  • Global Moderator
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 10401
Re: (CHALLENGE) Entity Locking
« Reply #5 on: April 21, 2006, 04:35:49 PM »
I've reached the age where the happy hour is a nap. (°¿°)
Windows 10 core i7 4790k 4Ghz 32GB GTX 970
Please support this web site.

Jim Yadon

  • Guest
Re: (CHALLENGE) Entity Locking
« Reply #6 on: April 22, 2006, 12:30:40 PM »
I have a challenge for you folks. I would have no idea how to do it myself so I wouldn't even know where to start.

Here are the criteria-
  • Lock a single entity.
  • The layer itself cannot be locked. You have to have freedom to modify anything else on that layer.
  • Nothing about the object can be changed. Not a single attribute or property.
  • It has to work with any geometry (including text) in AutoCAD

EDIT: Thread title change ;)


;;; Lockdown.lsp Written By: Peter Jamtgaard copr 2004
;;; This routine will lock down layers so they cannot be unlocked <uses a reactor>


Go to http://www.waun.org/
Post the request to Peter for the routine.

Works great.

Gary



Locking the layer is easy. i wrote one of those my self. I'm looking at locking only a single entity of any type. Locking all attributes or properties.

T.Willey

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 5251
Re: Entity Locking, How to?
« Reply #7 on: April 24, 2006, 11:55:48 AM »
I guess you could get the atoms family for all the vlax-properties, and then test those to see which ones will apply to that object, and then make an associated list of the properties and the values.  Then set up a reactor for that object, and when anything is changed, change it back.
/idea
Tim

I don't want to ' end-up ', I want to ' become '. - Me

Please think about donating if this post helped you.

Jim Yadon

  • Guest
Re: (CHALLENGE) Entity Locking
« Reply #8 on: April 24, 2006, 12:56:39 PM »
Luis, your link is here
http://www.theswamp.org/index.php?topic=6455.0

And one from Michael.
http://www.theswamp.org/index.php?topic=6463.0

Those were great examples of locking it into the drawing but I still don't understand the logic enough (or maybe I'm missing something all together) to see how it would prevent the change of any properties or attributes of an object.

LE

  • Guest
Re: Entity Locking, How to?
« Reply #9 on: April 24, 2006, 01:05:58 PM »
Jay;

Have a look also on the samples I uploaded about reactorswiz... on the show your stuff, in them I added some functions to lock the attributes heights, location, layer, etc...

I am busy right now with a dead line, I'll be back... to see if I can help...

Cheers...