TheSwamp

CAD Forums => CAD General => Topic started by: craigr on August 04, 2015, 08:14:04 AM

Title: Select Window?
Post by: craigr on August 04, 2015, 08:14:04 AM
While working away, a window or ??? came up and like a dummy, I figured 'hey, I wonder what this is'.  So, I made a couple of changes and now the attached pops up every time I select something.

I HAVE gone thru the Options / Select tab, but still can figure out how to turn this off.

Can any of you help me out?
Title: Re: Select Window?
Post by: Rob... on August 04, 2015, 08:24:19 AM
That's "Selection Cycling". It's for choosing which overlapping object you want to select. Ctrl+W turns it off.
Title: Re: Select Window?
Post by: craigr on August 04, 2015, 08:26:17 AM
Thank You EVER so much!!!

I'm sure that it has its uses, but when not used to it......

craigr
Title: Re: Select Window?
Post by: Rob... on August 04, 2015, 08:37:05 AM
I hear ya. I've recently been trying out "new" features that I turned off years ago because I didn't see any value and they usually popped up or took up screen space that I wanted. That is one that I decided to turn on. When you have a chance, check it out.
Title: Re: Select Window?
Post by: huiz on August 04, 2015, 08:45:15 AM
This is indeed a feature I really like and turned on here.
Title: Re: Select Window?
Post by: craigr on August 04, 2015, 08:54:27 AM
The window just kept getting in the way.

Traditionally, IF by chance I select something that I don't want, I simply hold the shift key and click to remove what I don't want.

I just didn't see the need for the little window to pop up. - I guess it is just not what I am used to.
Title: Re: Select Window?
Post by: mjfarrell on August 04, 2015, 08:55:18 AM
It has it's place, however i could function much better; like telling you what layer or what xref the object(s) are part of.
Title: Re: Select Window?
Post by: tombu on August 05, 2015, 02:11:02 PM
From my acaddoc.lsp
Code: [Select]
(if (> (getvar 'selectioncycling) 0)(progn(setvar 'selectioncycling (- (getvar 'selectioncycling)))(princ "\nTurn \"selectioncycling\" off. SELECTIONCYCLING")))
(princ "\nTo Select Objects Close Together: Hover+Shift+Spacebar to Cycle then pick to select visable object.")
Drove me nuts when it was introduced, thankfully haven't seen it in years! 

I know how to turn it on if I ever need it someday.
Title: Re: Select Window?
Post by: craigr on August 05, 2015, 02:12:27 PM
From my acaddoc.lsp
Code: [Select]
(if (> (getvar 'selectioncycling) 0)(progn(setvar 'selectioncycling (- (getvar 'selectioncycling)))(princ "\nTurn \"selectioncycling\" off. SELECTIONCYCLING")))
(princ "\nTo Select Objects Close Together: Hover+Shift+Spacebar to Cycle then pick to select visable object.")
Drove me nuts when it was introduced, thankfully haven't seen it in years! 

I know how to turn it on if I ever need it someday.

What does that Lisp do?
Title: Re: Select Window?
Post by: mjfarrell on August 05, 2015, 04:08:44 PM
disables that selection cycling tool
Title: Re: Select Window?
Post by: Rob... on August 05, 2015, 04:57:08 PM
...every time you open AutoCAD, whether it needs to or not.

If you ever want to check out selection cycling and decide you like it, you will have to remove that from the acaddoc.lsp file.
Title: Re: Select Window?
Post by: cadtag on August 06, 2015, 12:50:06 PM
From my acaddoc.lsp
Code: [Select]
(if (> (getvar 'selectioncycling) 0)(progn(setvar 'selectioncycling (- (getvar 'selectioncycling)))(princ "\nTurn \"selectioncycling\" off. SELECTIONCYCLING")))
(princ "\nTo Select Objects Close Together: Hover+Shift+Spacebar to Cycle then pick to select visable object.")
Drove me nuts when it was introduced, thankfully haven't seen it in years! 

I know how to turn it on if I ever need it someday.

What does that Lisp do?

In LT??? nothing.   :evillaugh: