Author Topic: C# and Civ3D where to start?  (Read 1885 times)

laztrezort

C# and Civ3D where to start?
« on: August 03, 2009, 03:08:34 PM »
Hello all, first time poster, I apologize if I've missed a FAQ or previous post that has already answered this...

I am completely new to developing for AutoCAD, but I have some existing code that I'd like to try to integrate into Civil3D (currently 2009).  My preference would be C# (after years of C++, managed code is like, well, candy :))  I downloaded and quickly perused the AutoCAD 2007 .NET Training labs, and everything looks pretty fairly straightforward.  However, it seems that the API they are documenting (ObjectARX?) does not expose Civil3D objects.  Am I correct about this assumption?  So that leaves a .NET wrapper around ActiveX, which I find to be less straightforward (and less documented, from what I've found).

Basically I need to expose Civil3D survey points in my app, everything else would be vanilla cad.

So my questions are:
1)  Am I correct that there are basically 2 APIs available, ObjectARX and ActiveX, both having .NET wrappers?
2)  Am I correct that ObjectARX is no good for Civ3D?
3)  If I must use ActiveX, are there any good resources/docs/examples using C# and .NET for interfacing Civ3D?  I figured out how to expose a command and do simple things with ObjectARX in about 30 mins, but after reading for a while I still have no idea how to do the same using ActiveX.

Thanks in advance for any guidance.

wannabe

Re: C# and Civ3D where to start?
« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2009, 04:43:52 PM »
On through-the-interface there are also other blogs such as the "the building coder". Maybe you can locate a blog on there that suits your niche.

Good luck

sinc

« Reply #2 on: August 03, 2009, 04:46:14 PM »
There's quite a bit of documentation.  It's all in the Help folder in the C3D installation directory.  There's also a number of samples in the Samples directory in the C3D installation directory.