Author Topic: Automating Plan & Profile Updates  (Read 4693 times)

tcdan

Automating Plan & Profile Updates
« on: July 04, 2005, 06:15:45 AM »
Hey guys - I'm working for a civil company working primarily with water.  I'm new to this work, so I'm going to spell things out a little because I don't know all the lingo yet  :oops:.

OVERVIEW
I'm creating a plan and profile for a ~7 mile long pipeline.  This requires creating an alignment in profile view with lots of annotations noting turns, air release valves, and other features along the pipeline.  These annotations must include the station number the annotation is referring to, for example "ARV Sta. 10+00".  In profile view I need to create a polyline of the ground level as well as a pipeline drawn >4 feet below the ground.  This pipeline must include many of the same annotations - but my boss likes some of them placed on the grid itself where the polylines are drawn and other annotations outside of the grid.  OK, I'll show you a couple simplified pics:

PLAN VIEW

PROFILE VIEW

PROBLEM
I drew the route, and now my boss wants me to make a couple minor changes in how the pipeline is laid out!!  Little does he know this could take hours of tedious changes in every annotation (keep in mind 7 miles of this stuff and the whole profile view being shifted and changed).  Kind of a boring project to be honest (although there's a lot more to it).

SOLUTION?