Author Topic: Error when pausing during debug  (Read 5748 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Quigs

  • Guest
Error when pausing during debug
« on: September 20, 2010, 10:12:13 AM »
Hi,

I have recently upgraded to Win 7 64 bit, and VS 2010.
When I start debug up for a routine I have created, all is good.
But when I try and pause I get this error:
 "unable to break execution. This process is not currently executing the type of code that you selected to debug"
Any one have any clue how to fix this?

UPDATE:
Apparently its a bug on 64 bit platforms on Win7, using VS2010.
I have read you can create a startup switch, which I have, and this is "meant" to
fix this issue.  It dousent,

Any one else have this problem?

Cheers,

Martin.

mohnston

  • Bull Frog
  • Posts: 305
  • CAD Programmer
Re: Error when pausing during debug
« Reply #1 on: September 20, 2010, 04:57:24 PM »
The information here helped me.http://through-the-interface.typepad.com/through_the_interface/2010/04/hitting-breakpoints-in-net-class-libraries-while-debugging-with-visual-studio-2010.html
Or maybe you've read that already.

The 64 bit environment adds a lot of pain. I abandoned it and went back to 32.
It's amazing what you can do when you don't know what you can't do.
CAD Programming Solutions

Jeff H

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 6150
Re: Error when pausing during debug
« Reply #2 on: September 20, 2010, 05:35:15 PM »
Does this happen with all projects or just one?

Rebuild the project then launch it and when you go to netload and in the netload dialog box  look at the Date Modified coloum you may change settings to show and make sure it was just modified.

Jeff H

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 6150
Re: Error when pausing during debug
« Reply #3 on: September 20, 2010, 05:50:07 PM »
I tried it on 64 bit and if you follow the steps in the link mohnston posted worked fine for me

Kerry

  • Mesozoic relic
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 11654
  • class keyThumper<T>:ILazy<T>
Re: Error when pausing during debug
« Reply #4 on: September 20, 2010, 06:22:39 PM »
I tried it on 64 bit and if you follow the steps in the link mohnston posted worked fine for me

fro2001,
Are you using Method 2 <acad.exe.config> or Method 3 < AddIn as an existing project > ??

I'm using Method 2 but wondered about any limitations regarding .NET version with Method 3 ... any ideas anyone ??
kdub, kdub_nz in other timelines.
Perfection is not optional.
Everything will work just as you expect it to, unless your expectations are incorrect.
Discipline: None at all.

Jeff H

  • Needs a day job
  • Posts: 6150
Re: Error when pausing during debug
« Reply #5 on: September 20, 2010, 06:54:29 PM »
Add acad.exe as existing project

Quigs

  • Guest
Re: Error when pausing during debug
« Reply #6 on: September 21, 2010, 05:32:20 AM »
Hi Guys,
I will try your kind replys later.

Ta!!!

mohnston

  • Bull Frog
  • Posts: 305
  • CAD Programmer
Re: Error when pausing during debug
« Reply #7 on: September 21, 2010, 12:15:06 PM »
I've been using method 3 and it works fine for me.

You can even send arguments to acad.exe which can be a time-saver.
Example: "J:\7500-003.dwg" /nologo /b "Z:\Programming\Projects\ACAD_Development\DotNET\SPEC\NetloadMySpecProgram.scr"
It's amazing what you can do when you don't know what you can't do.
CAD Programming Solutions

Quigs

  • Guest
Re: Error when pausing during debug
« Reply #8 on: September 21, 2010, 01:23:01 PM »
Does this happen with all projects or just one?

Rebuild the project then launch it and when you go to netload and in the netload dialog box  look at the Date Modified coloum you may change settings to show and make sure it was just modified.

Hi,
it happens to all projects.

I tried all 3 options above, but non work.  Very fustraiting, this is day 4 trying to fix at the moment!!!

Kerry

  • Mesozoic relic
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 11654
  • class keyThumper<T>:ILazy<T>
Re: Error when pausing during debug
« Reply #9 on: September 22, 2010, 08:56:26 AM »
I've been using method 3 and it works fine for me.

You can even send arguments to acad.exe which can be a time-saver.
Example: "J:\7500-003.dwg" /nologo /b "Z:\Programming\Projects\ACAD_Development\DotNET\SPEC\NetloadMySpecProgram.scr"


Hello Mark, which .NET Framework build are you targeting ?
kdub, kdub_nz in other timelines.
Perfection is not optional.
Everything will work just as you expect it to, unless your expectations are incorrect.
Discipline: None at all.

mohnston

  • Bull Frog
  • Posts: 305
  • CAD Programmer
Re: Error when pausing during debug
« Reply #10 on: September 22, 2010, 12:32:06 PM »
Kerry,
For this project I'm targeting 3.5 since I'm writing for acad 2011.

What's the trick to embedding an image?
It's amazing what you can do when you don't know what you can't do.
CAD Programming Solutions