Author Topic: Calling for user command input  (Read 4150 times)

Cuddles

Calling for user command input
« on: December 04, 2014, 05:20:42 PM »
Hello to all who read  :-)

Just a quick note before I explain my topic - I'm a bit of a novice / intermediate with Lisp.

My question as follows:

Is it possible (i assume so) to call a command using lisp in which the user chooses the command i.e line, pline, xline, circle etc... and not have the command built into the code???
So in the code, instead of having (command "line"....) or (command "circle" .....), can the code wait for the user to pick a command (on screen) i.e. line, pline, xline from the standard AutoCAD toolbars and then continue executing???

Hope this makes sense.

I'm sure this a simple task but have searched other posts and the net in general, all to no avail.

All help will be greatly appreciated.

Cuddles  :laugh:

ribarm

• Gator
  • Marko Ribar, architect
Re: Calling for user command input
« Reply #1 on: December 04, 2014, 05:40:29 PM »
Hope this makes sense.
Cuddles  :laugh:

No it does not make sense...
Marko Ribar, d.i.a. (graduated engineer of architecture)

:)

M.R. on Youtube

danallen

« Reply #2 on: December 04, 2014, 06:10:28 PM »
This may be possible with custom toolbars - not the standard acad because they send escape command to cancel current commands. The custom toolbars can avoid this, the text is just entered at command line. For example the object entity snap toolbar does not send escape command.

Code: [Select]
: (getstring)
_center"_center"

You could write code that asked for string input, then hit buttons on your custom toolbar.

Lee Mac

• Seagull
  • London, England
« Reply #3 on: December 04, 2014, 06:18:37 PM »
Alternatively, you could prompt the user at the command-line, e.g.:
Code - Auto/Visual Lisp: [Select]
  1. (defun c:getcommand ( / arg cmd )
  2.     (while
  3.         (not
  4.             (or (= "" (setq cmd (getstring "\nEnter a command: ")))