Author Topic: Variable width pavement along with variable kerb  (Read 2750 times)

Eclipse

Variable width pavement along with variable kerb
« on: August 08, 2013, 07:57:40 AM »
First off, I am not sure if this is possible or not (i am new to Civil 3D). The below image is a mock example of a site although is representative of similar jobs I've done in the past (in different software) with varying levels of success.

The geometric internal road site layout has been provided by an architect (hence the 'uniqueness' of it). The magenta and yellow lines represent the extents of the variable width road pavement. The magenta lines show where kerb must be constructed while the yellow lines represent garage doors/driveways (where there is to be no kerb).  The edge of pavement levels are to be controlled from the road centreline.

The pavement is to have a standard fall towards the centreline (where a drain will be installed in the pavement), e.g. 3%.

When I have modeled sites like this previously in other design packages it has been basically modelling the centreline only and then manually changing the template (assembly) every time the driveway/kerb changed [which some sites have admittely been screwed up and less than impressive at the end]. From what I have read it is possible to taget a centreline to a kerb alignment, although what about when the existence of the kerb is variable. Is it still going to require me to break the corridor every 2m or so and change the assembly?

Cheers
« Last Edit: August 08, 2013, 08:00:54 AM by Eclipse »

Eclipse

Re: Variable width pavement along with variable kerb
« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2013, 08:11:32 AM »

The above image shows the south-west corner of the site in the first image and the merged design and natural ground surface. I have a variable width, constant grade assembly applied with it targeting to the variable pavement extents, then a batter down/up to the natural surface.