Author Topic: Batch processing files example [generic example]  (Read 2672 times)

exmachina

Batch processing files example [generic example]
« on: September 30, 2013, 06:44:32 AM »
It is only an (C#) example of how to process a lot of files using the Backgroundworker component.
Uses the Windows API to enumerate files because for this purpose I think it works better than .NET functions. Also shows you how to cancel the process correctly if the form is closed, and some things more.

It is a an WinForms application , but the Backgroundworker component can also be used in AutoCAD with a modal form.
The application is just one example, does not alter any file.

I'm not a programmer and I've never read any book about programming, but I think it is a good example

The project must be compiled before opening the main form. Usually, if you see this icon you must compile before opening a form to avoid errors

« Last Edit: September 30, 2013, 08:36:30 AM by jar »

exmachina

Re: Batch processing files example [generic example]
« Reply #1 on: September 30, 2013, 08:46:34 AM »
Updated
I apologize. The code contains an error, I forgot to add these lines inside worker.cs.

This does not affect the execution, but the application does not show the actual status in the GUI.

exmachina

« Reply #2 on: October 05, 2013, 04:42:34 PM »
A more complex example
Files can be filtered by type, size or date (take a look at  DateTimeInterval.cs)

I have reported that some forum "users" do not like my posts:
Perfect, but be coherent: In this case, do not read my posts and do not use my code.
« Last Edit: October 05, 2013, 04:45:37 PM by jar »

WILL HATCH

• Bull Frog
« Reply #3 on: October 05, 2013, 10:39:12 PM »
I have reported that some forum "users" do not like my posts:
Perfect, but be coherent: In this case, do not read my posts and do not use my code.

Thumbs up. This material is great for anybody wanting to start with this topic

exmachina

« Reply #4 on: October 05, 2013, 11:07:19 PM »