Author Topic: Isoplane?  (Read 4457 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

PHX cadie

  • Water Moccasin
  • Posts: 1902
Isoplane?
« on: May 10, 2007, 11:23:31 PM »
I've had to do a couple of iso's so far, and I would like to have a button set up to toggle back and forth, like we did at the previous employer.  Without knowing the command I'm constantly stuck going back and forth to Tools>Drafting settings>Snap and Grid>checking/clearing the isometric snap button. I've tried isoplane, but that had no effect on my crosshairs, (no effect at all that I saw)

What would the command in the command line that I can use to turn the iso snap on with a single entry? 

Thanks!
Acad 2013 and XM
Back when High Tech meant you had an adjustable triangle

Strucmad

  • Guest
Re: Isoplane?
« Reply #1 on: May 10, 2007, 11:38:14 PM »
SNAPSTYL is the system variable for isoplane (0 - normal, 1-isometric), you could customize
a button with "SNAPSTYL 1 " for iso on & "0" for normal.
                                                          
                                       

PHX cadie

  • Water Moccasin
  • Posts: 1902
Re: Isoplane?
« Reply #2 on: May 11, 2007, 12:06:39 AM »
Awesome! Thanks!

I would have never found that digging around in the iso* section w/o luck.

Yes I could do flyout with two buttons, so I'm happy. I'm just wondering now if there is a way to set snapstyl opposite of its current setting? A toggle on/off method. Didn't see much in help file and/or my lack of skill in programming. Looked at the tframes button as an example and the command is ^C^Ctframes, wonder how that toggles on or off, (opposite of the current setting)  :|

Anyway Thanks
Acad 2013 and XM
Back when High Tech meant you had an adjustable triangle

Strucmad

  • Guest
Re: Isoplane?
« Reply #3 on: May 11, 2007, 12:28:07 AM »
I muck around with lisp (learning) so if no one laughs,
I wrote this to toggle iso on/off, just drop it into your startup suite and
assign a button with "tframes1"


Code: [Select]
(defun c:tframes1 (/ oldvar)
(setq oldvar (getvar "snapstyl"))
(if (= oldvar 1) (setvar "snapstyl" 0) (setvar "snapstyl" 1))
)
(princ)

hope this helps


   
« Last Edit: May 11, 2007, 12:35:37 AM by PS_Port »

Kerry

  • Mesozoic relic
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 11654
  • class keyThumper<T>:ILazy<T>
Re: Isoplane?
« Reply #4 on: May 11, 2007, 01:09:43 AM »
Good Paul.

Here's another idea to tuck away ..

because :-
(abs (1- 1)) ;< = 0

(abs (1- 0)) ;< = 1


Therefore : ..

(setvar "snapstyl" (abs (1- (getvar "snapstyl"))))
kdub, kdub_nz in other timelines.
Perfection is not optional.
Everything will work just as you expect it to, unless your expectations are incorrect.
Discipline: None at all.

Bob

  • Guest
Re: Isoplane?
« Reply #5 on: May 11, 2007, 06:11:08 AM »
Can you not right click the snap button on the bottom of the screen and select iso?

CADaver

  • Guest
Re: Isoplane?
« Reply #6 on: May 11, 2007, 09:03:12 AM »
Good Paul.

Here's another idea to tuck away ..

because :-
(abs (1- 1)) ;< = 0

(abs (1- 0)) ;< = 1


Therefore : ..

(setvar "snapstyl" (abs (1- (getvar "snapstyl"))))

BOOLE?

Kerry

  • Mesozoic relic
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 11654
  • class keyThumper<T>:ILazy<T>
Re: Isoplane?
« Reply #7 on: May 11, 2007, 09:22:55 AM »
Good Paul.

Here's another idea to tuck away ..

because :-
(abs (1- 1)) ;< = 0

(abs (1- 0)) ;< = 1


Therefore : ..

(setvar "snapstyl" (abs (1- (getvar "snapstyl"))))

BOOLE?

Not yet I think ... let him digest that first .. The Lisp Boole isn't for newbies .. or people without excellent memories.
kdub, kdub_nz in other timelines.
Perfection is not optional.
Everything will work just as you expect it to, unless your expectations are incorrect.
Discipline: None at all.

CADaver

  • Guest
Re: Isoplane?
« Reply #8 on: May 11, 2007, 01:08:07 PM »
Good Paul.

Here's another idea to tuck away ..

because :-
(abs (1- 1)) ;< = 0

(abs (1- 0)) ;< = 1


Therefore : ..

(setvar "snapstyl" (abs (1- (getvar "snapstyl"))))

BOOLE?

Not yet I think ... let him digest that first .. The Lisp Boole isn't for newbies .. or people without excellent memories.
Just a thought.

Biscuits

  • Swamp Rat
  • Posts: 502
Re: Isoplane?
« Reply #9 on: May 11, 2007, 04:45:19 PM »
Here's a macro and the lisp to go with it.
It serves as a great toggle feature for a button

^C^C(if (not C:sst)(load "sst"));sst;




(defun c:sst ( / )
    (setq csnap (getvar "snapstyl"))
    (if (= csnap 0) (setvar "snapstyl" 1) (setvar "snapstyl" 0))
)

CarlB

  • Guest
Re: Isoplane?
« Reply #10 on: May 11, 2007, 09:16:55 PM »
Using same format someone showed for toggling tilemode, a little less code than Kerry's;

Code: [Select]
(setvar "snapstyl" (- 1 (getvar "snapstyl")))

Kerry

  • Mesozoic relic
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 11654
  • class keyThumper<T>:ILazy<T>
Re: Isoplane?
« Reply #11 on: May 12, 2007, 11:49:13 PM »
Yes Carl that is simpler ..


Now to satisfy Randy and use Boole ...

The logical operator used with boole for XOR <exclusive OR> is 6,

resulting in  ;

(boole 6 1 1)  ; <<= 0
(boole 6 1 0)  ; <<= 1

therefore you could use :-

(setvar "snapstyl" (boole 6 1 (getvar "snapstyl")))


ADDED:
the logical operator XOR  returns true if only one of the input bits is true.


« Last Edit: May 12, 2007, 11:54:45 PM by Kerry Brown »
kdub, kdub_nz in other timelines.
Perfection is not optional.
Everything will work just as you expect it to, unless your expectations are incorrect.
Discipline: None at all.

Strucmad

  • Guest
Re: Isoplane?
« Reply #12 on: May 13, 2007, 05:53:51 PM »
Thanks Kerry for the lesson, some digesting needed now.
everyone can stop chuckling at my code :-D

Kerry

  • Mesozoic relic
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 11654
  • class keyThumper<T>:ILazy<T>
Re: Isoplane?
« Reply #13 on: May 13, 2007, 07:43:22 PM »
............
everyone can stop chuckling at my code :-D

Who's chuckling ? It satisfies the first condition : It WORKS !

kdub, kdub_nz in other timelines.
Perfection is not optional.
Everything will work just as you expect it to, unless your expectations are incorrect.
Discipline: None at all.

CADaver

  • Guest
Re: Isoplane?
« Reply #14 on: May 13, 2007, 09:49:36 PM »
Thanks Kerry for the lesson, some digesting needed now.
everyone can stop chuckling at my code :-D
Dude, can't speak for anyone else, but in my book any code that works is good code.