Author Topic: Ok , This is quirky.  (Read 2235 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Denzuki

  • Guest
Ok , This is quirky.
« on: October 26, 2015, 07:23:38 PM »
I have run into an issue that I haven't been able to resolve.

I created a lisp routine that does several things including placing a polyline boundary around several other polylines. The placement is determined by points which I also use the routine to determine (no user input). What's happening is  when the code activates to place the polyline boundary, it is placing 3 of the 6 points according to the input I currently input via dialog box and then it placed the other 3 points per the previous placement. I have tried making the point variables local. I have also tried purging the drawing and shutting the software and computer off and rebooting. I have verified via the command line that the point definitions are what they are supposed to be. I have even tried running the routine three times in a row and each time the polyline boundary referenced 3 points from the previous placement. I've gone through the code line by line and do not see any discrepancies. Any ideas. thanks

Lee Mac

  • Seagull
  • Posts: 12926
  • London, England
Re: Ok , This is quirky.
« Reply #1 on: October 26, 2015, 07:29:32 PM »
Are you supplying the points for the polyline to an AutoCAD command? If so, is Object Snap disabled for the point input?

Denzuki

  • Guest
Re: Ok , This is quirky.
« Reply #2 on: October 26, 2015, 07:31:47 PM »
Yes, Osnaps are disabled.

Denzuki

  • Guest
Re: Ok , This is quirky.
« Reply #3 on: October 26, 2015, 07:32:29 PM »
and yes it is the Pline command

Kerry

  • Mesozoic relic
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 11654
  • class keyThumper<T>:ILazy<T>
Re: Ok , This is quirky.
« Reply #4 on: October 26, 2015, 07:39:15 PM »
Hi Denzuki,
I can't think of anything other than the points discussed.

Reduce your code to the bare minimum that illustrates the error.

I've found that this sometimes helps in locating glitches.

Post the reduced code for someone here to run an eye over.

Regards,
Kerry

ps:
Sounds to me like a list that is being cons'd to that has existing values ... but guesses don't count.


kdub, kdub_nz in other timelines.
Perfection is not optional.
Everything will work just as you expect it to, unless your expectations are incorrect.
Discipline: None at all.

Denzuki

  • Guest
Re: Ok , This is quirky.
« Reply #5 on: October 26, 2015, 07:42:27 PM »
thanks, will try to get it posted soon.
BTW, just thinking quirkylike, is there any difference if the pline is being drawn clockwise versus counterclockwise? I'm just trying to think of any reason why.

Kerry

  • Mesozoic relic
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 11654
  • class keyThumper<T>:ILazy<T>
Re: Ok , This is quirky.
« Reply #6 on: October 26, 2015, 07:44:42 PM »

Quote
... clockwise versus counterclockwise
No distinction that I'm aware of.
kdub, kdub_nz in other timelines.
Perfection is not optional.
Everything will work just as you expect it to, unless your expectations are incorrect.
Discipline: None at all.

CAB

  • Global Moderator
  • Seagull
  • Posts: 10401
Re: Ok , This is quirky.
« Reply #7 on: October 26, 2015, 11:10:58 PM »
In my limited experience most quirkiness is cause by the operator/programmer. :)
I've reached the age where the happy hour is a nap. (°¿°)
Windows 10 core i7 4790k 4Ghz 32GB GTX 970
Please support this web site.

Denzuki

  • Guest
Re: Ok , This is quirky.
« Reply #8 on: October 29, 2015, 02:11:15 PM »
Oh CAB, I definitely agree with that statement!!

squirreldip

  • Newt
  • Posts: 114
Re: Ok , This is quirky.
« Reply #9 on: October 29, 2015, 04:07:34 PM »
Without seeing the code all of us are stabbing in the dark...

However...  Are the missing points colinear to other points, i.e. a missing point is precisely between two other points?

Denzuki

  • Guest
Re: Ok , This is quirky.
« Reply #10 on: October 30, 2015, 03:47:56 PM »
OK, I found it. It had to do with the x and y layout of determining points. I had the y's in the x's place and vice versa and the wrong x or y values being multiplied to the wrong lines of code. I will be more thorough next time. Thanks for all the help though.